Processes and Procedures - Export Development Canada (EDC)
  • 1-800-229-0575
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Français
  • Login
Home > Home > About Exporting > Compliance in International Trade > Processes and Procedures

Processes and Procedures

International trade demands that importers and exporters be familiar with a large range of processes and procedures. All of them involve complying with many rules, regulations, laws and standards, from reporting exports to the transportation of dangerous goods.

Reporting

If you export commercial goods or have the legal right to cause them to be exported, you are responsible for ensuring that all export documentation is properly completed and is submitted to customs authorities in a timely manner.

Canadian export reporting requirements

Canadian export reporting requirements vary with the type of goods and/or the destination market, but the basic rules are as follows:

  • If you export non-restricted goods to the United States, you don’t have to report them.
  • If you export restricted goods to the United States, you must obtain an export permit for them and submit it to the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA) before the goods can leave Canada.
  • If you’re shipping your exports through the United States to a third country (that is, the goods are in transit), you must report them to the CBSA using a B13A (PDF) export declaration.
  • If you’re exporting goods to destinations other than the United States, you must report them using a B13A (PDF) export declaration if they have a commercial value exceeding C$2500.
  • If you’re exporting restricted goods of any value to destinations other than the United States, you must provide the CBSA with both the required permits and a B13A (PDF) export declaration.

For more information about reporting, refer to CBSA Memorandum D20-1-1. The CBSA provides several other publications with information on this subject, including A Step-by-Step Guide to Exporting; eManifest; and Export Reporting in Brief.

Foreign reporting requirements

You must also comply with any applicable reporting regulations in your destination market. To make sure you understand the local regulations, check with your customs broker, your local Canadian Trade Commissioner Service office, or the country’s embassy or consulate in Canada.

Basic Import Procedures

The basic procedures for importing goods into Canada are outlined under the following headings. Much more detail is available on the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA) web site.

The importer of record

A company that brings foreign goods into Canada is known as the importer of record (IOR) because it is responsible for ensuring that all import declarations are true and accurate, and that all applicable import duties and taxes are paid. The IOR’s obligations include:

  • ensuring the accuracy of the tariff classification, the value for duty and the origin of the imported goods;
  • maintaining all related records for six years; and
  • reporting and correcting any import declaration errors within 90 days of detecting them.

If the IOR is not the actual owner of the goods at the time of import, the owner and the IOR are both legally liable for duty and taxes. The IOR is also responsible for any additional duties and taxes that may become payable after the goods are imported.

Note that under Canadian regulations, a business that is not resident in Canada may also act as the IOR; in this case, it is deemed a non-resident importer or NRI. NRIs must register with both the Canada Revenue Agency and the Canadian Border Services Agency and are responsible for all import declarations and for paying duty and taxes on the imported goods. They are also required to maintain appropriate import records. For the NRI, the benefit of assuming these responsibilities is that Canadian companies will find it easier to purchase its goods, thus increasing its sales.

Reporting a shipment

Your carrier is responsible for the transportation of imported goods into Canada and for complying with the applicable regulations in this area. Since there are penalties for non-compliance, you should work closely with your carrier to make sure that all the rules are followed.

When your imports arrive at the Canadian port of entry, the carrier must report the shipment to the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA). It does this by filling out a cargo control document or by using the CBSA’s Electronic Data Interchange System. CBSA Memorandum D3-1-1 provides more information on administrative procedures regarding the importation and transportation of goods.

Calculating landed costs

To actually enter Canada, the imports must be admissible products. If they fall into the category of restricted goods, they will be admissible only under certain conditions. Prohibited goods cannot be imported at all. For more information, refer to A Step-by-Step Guide to Importing, published by the Canadian Border Services Agency.

Once you’ve determined that your imports are admissible, you can calculate their landed cost. This includes the original cost of the item plus all additional costs such as brokerage and logistics fees, shipping costs, customs duties and handling fees. You have to know the landed cost in order to fully account for your goods, which is an essential part of the import process.

Accounting for your goods

Accounting requires you to provide documentation that verifies the value, classification, country of origin and tariff treatment of the imported goods, as well as the exchange rate in effect at the time they were shipped. This documentation includes:

  • two copies of the cargo control document;
  • two copies of the invoice;
  • two copies of a completed Form B3 (PDF), the Canada Customs Coding Form;
  • any import permits, health certificates, or other forms that may be required; and
  • a certificate of origin, if necessary.

Once you’ve provided this information and calculated the goods’ landed cost, you can pay the applicable taxes and duties, whereupon the goods will be released to you.

Alternatively, you can ask that your goods be released prior to paying the taxes and duties. This is called Release on Minimum Documentation and requires you to post security with the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA) as collateral for the early release of your goods. You must, however, provide full accounting documentation within a specified time of the release. Not doing so will result in financial penalties.

Note that you must maintain import records for six years in either electronic or paper form. You can be fined or denied preferential tariff treatment if you fail to do so. CBSA Memorandum D17-1-21 provides more details. Additional information can be found on the CBSA’s Importer programs and Customs tariffs pages.

Examination of imports

Your imports may be examined at any point in the supply chain to determine whether they comply with customs and other government regulations. The frequency of examination will depend on your compliance record and on the type of goods you are importing. Customs authorities will usually charge you fees for the services required to examine the goods, such as unloading and reloading them.

Penalties for non-compliance

The most common trade compliance penalties in Canada are related to carrier infractions and import/export violations and are managed under the CBSA’s Administrative Monetary Penalties System (AMPS). The amount of a penalty is based on the type, frequency and severity of the infraction.

Common examples of non-compliance include failure to pay duties, failure to provide required information to the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA), unauthorized removal of goods from a warehouse, direct delivery of goods prior to release from CBSA control, and failure to report goods to the CBSA.

Duty and tax reductions

If you obtain some of your inputs from abroad, there may be ways to reduce or eliminate the Canadian customs duties applied to them, and possibly the GST/HST as well. For example:

  • The Duty Deferral Program is administered by the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA). If you qualify for the program, the CBSA can waive, postpone or refund duties and taxes you would otherwise have to pay on goods you import.
  • The Export Distribution Centre Program is administered by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) and is intended to benefit businesses that import goods and/or acquire goods in Canada, process them to add limited value and then export them.
  • The Exporters of Processing Services Program is also administered by the CRA. It relieves participants of the obligation to pay GST/HST on imports of goods belonging to non-resident customers, provided that these goods are imported for processing, distribution or storage, and are later exported.

International Logistics

International logistics are more complicated and time-consuming than domestic logistics, for several reasons—greater distances, increased risk during shipment, and much more complex paperwork, to name just three. Compliance issues, as a result, are also more complicated.

Direct consignment

If you’re exporting to a country with which Canada has a free trade agreement or a preferential trade agreement, your goods must retain their Canadian-origin status to receive the tariff benefits the agreement provides. To achieve this, you must ship the goods to the destination country as a direct consignment. What constitutes direct consignment varies with the trade agreement, so you should review the rules before shipping so that you preserve your goods’ Canadian origin.

In the case of NAFTA, for example, goods that are entitled to NAFTA preferential duty rates will lose that status if:

  • they leave customs control outside North America, or
  • they undergo any operation outside North America other than one required to preserve them in good condition, or to transport them to Canada, Mexico or the United States (such as unloading and reloading the shipment).

Note that you may have to present documentary proof to the importing country to confirm that your goods comply with the direct-consignment rules.

Insurance

Transportation insurance is sometimes a condition to a sales agreement, but even if it isn’t, you’ll need to insure your shipments while they are in transit. This form of logistics insurance is commonly called marine insurance, although it covers the risks of all forms of transit, including sea, air, road and rail. There are companies that specialize in this kind of risk coverage; you can likely get a list of suitable ones from your freight forwarder.

Marine insurance covers four major types of risk:

  • Catastrophic risks - These affect the ship, aircraft or other type of transport carrying the shipment, or the location where the shipment is stored. This would include shipwreck, fire, flood, collision and other unforeseeable events.
  • Accidental or fortuitous risks - These affect the goods themselves, rather than their transport, and include mishaps such as dropping, crushing, breaking, corrosion or contamination.
  • Other risks - These are not accidental or fortuitous risks but are nevertheless outside your control. They include theft and pilferage, non-delivery, piracy and malicious damage.
  • War and other political risks - These include events such as wars, strikes, civil unrest and terrorism.

The insurance policy normally covers your goods from the time they leave your warehouse until:

  • they reach the destination that is specified in the insurance policy; or
  • 60 days after they are unloaded from a vessel; or
  • 30 days after they are unloaded from an aircraft.

The 30/60 day window is intended to cover a situation such as the goods remaining in temporary storage because they have not yet passed customs inspection and have consequently not reached their specified destination.

Transporting dangerous goods

Special regulations apply to the shipment of dangerous goods such as explosives, gases and corrosive substances. These regulations specify how to select and use a means of containment and transportation, how to load and secure the shipment, and how to certify your dangerous goods shipment.

In Canada, this process is regulated by the Transportation of Dangerous Goods (TDG) regulations administered by Transport Canada. The regulations apply to all parties involved in the shipment of dangerous goods, including manufacturers, producers and logistics companies. If you’re not sure if what you’re shipping is a dangerous good, or if you have questions about the process and obtaining approvals, contact your TDG Regional Office.

Incoterms

Many of the clauses in international contracts use Incoterms. These are formal terms that specify certain exporter and importer responsibilities in international trade transactions, especially for logistics. Incoterms are widely used because they are globally accepted and can remove many of the uncertainties associated with international business. They define the meaning of logistics terms in the following areas:

  • Costs: Who is responsible for the expenses associated with a shipment at any specific time during transit. Examples could be export packing costs, international transport costs or customs duties.
  • Control: Who owns the shipment at any specific time during transit.
  • Liability: Who is responsible for the shipment during transit.

A new set of Incoterms, Incoterms 2010, went into effect on January 1, 2011. More information about them is available on the Incoterms web site. The UN Development Programme document Shipping and Incoterms (PDF) provides further information.

Packing for international shipment

No matter where it’s going, your shipment will have to withstand three basic hazards while in transit: breakage, moisture and pilferage. It should also be proof against repeated loading and unloading, being left in the rain, sliding down a chute or being dropped by a careless handler. To be sure your packing is adequate and complies with any applicable regulations, get advice from your freight forwarder.

It is in your interest to pack your shipments securely. If a shipment arrives in a damaged state because of improper packing, your buyer will not accept it and may decide not to order goods from you again. Note that insurance policies will often refuse coverage for goods that are damaged because of inadequate packaging.

Appropriate shipping labels will contribute to smooth inspection and customs clearance at the port of entry. Labels should be large, clear, and waterproof. The shipping information should include:

  • port of destination and name, address and phone number of consignee on at least three faces of the package (top, one side, one end);
  • any necessary cautionary labels;
  • transit instructions;
  • package dimensions and weight;
  • package number; and
  • invoice and/or order number.

• Appelez EDC1-800-229-0575
  • Contactez-nous
  • Carrières
  • English
Connexion

Processus et procédures

Le commerce international exige des importateurs et des exportateurs qu’ils connaissent un vaste éventail de processus et de procédures afin de respecter nombre de règlements, de règles, de lois et de normes, qui vont de la déclaration des exportations au transport de marchandises dangereuses.

Déclaration des exportations

Si vous exportez des marchandises commerciales ou êtes en droit de permettre leur exportation, vous êtes tenu de voir à ce que tous les documents d’exportation soient remplis correctement et présentés aux autorités douanières dans les délais prescrits.

Exigences du Canada en matière de déclaration des exportations

Les exigences du Canada en matière de déclaration des exportations varient selon le type de marchandises et la destination, mais les règles de base sont les suivantes :

  • Si vous exportez des marchandises non réglementées aux États-Unis, vous n’avez pas à les déclarer.
  • Si vous exportez des marchandises réglementées aux États-Unis, vous devez obtenir un permis d’exportation à cet effet et la présenter à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) pour que les marchandises puissent franchir la frontière.
  • Si vos marchandises passent par les États-Unis pour parvenir à un pays tiers (marchandises en transit), vous devez les déclarer à l’ASFC en remplissant une déclaration d’exportation B13A (PDF).
  • Si vous exportez des marchandises vers un pays autre que les États-Unis et que leur valeur commerciale dépasse 2 500 $, vous devez déclarer ces marchandises en remplissant une déclaration d’exportation B13A (PDF).
  • Si vous exportez des marchandises réglementées de quelque valeur que ce soit ailleurs qu’aux États-Unis, vous devez présenter à l’ASFC les permis requis en plus de la déclaration d’exportation B13A (PDF).

Pour en savoir plus sur les exigences de déclaration, consultez le mémorandum D20-1-1 de l’ASFC. L’Agence met aussi à votre disposition plusieurs autres publications sur le sujet, parmi lesquelles le Guide de l'exportateur, étape par étape, le Manifeste électronique et un survol de la déclaration d'exportation.

Exigences étrangères en matière de déclaration

Vous devez aussi vous conformer aux exigences de déclaration applicables du pays importateur. Pour être certain de bien les comprendre, consultez votre courtier en douane, le bureau approprié du Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada ou encore l’ambassade ou le consulat au Canada du pays visé.

Procédures d’importation de base

Les sections qui suivent présentent les procédures élémentaires d’importation de marchandise au Canada. Vous trouverez des renseignements beaucoup plus détaillés sur le site de l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

Importateur attitré

L’entreprise faisant entrer des marchandises étrangères au Canada est appelée importateur attitré (IA), car elle est tenue de veiller à ce que toutes les déclarations d’importation soient véridiques et exactes, et tous les droits d’importation et les taxes applicables réglés. L’IA est notamment responsable :

  • d’assurer l’exactitude de la classification tarifaire, de la valeur en douane et de l’origine des marchandises importées;
  • de conserver tous les documents pertinents pendant six ans;
  • de déclarer et de rectifier toute erreur de déclaration d’importation au cours des 90 jours suivant sa découverte.

Si l’IA n’est pas le propriétaire réel des marchandises au moment de l’importation, leur propriétaire assume avec lui la responsabilité légale du paiement des droits et des taxes. L’IA est également tenu de régler les droits et les taxes additionnels pouvant s’ajouter après l’importation des marchandises.

Il est à noter que selon les lois canadiennes, une entreprise établie à l’extérieur du Canada peut tout de même faire office d’IA, auquel cas elle sera considérée comme un importateur non résident (INR). L’INR doit s’inscrire à la fois auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) et de l’ASFC; il est responsable de toutes les déclarations d’importation et du paiement des droits et des taxes sur la marchandise importée. Il est également tenu de conserver les documents d’importation appropriés. En contrepartie, l’achat de ses marchandises se trouve facilité pour les entreprises canadiennes, ce qui accroît ses ventes.

Déclaration des expéditions

Votre transporteur est responsable de l’acheminement des marchandises importées au Canada et du respect des règlements applicables sur ce territoire. Des pénalités sont imposées en cas d’infraction. Vous avez donc tout intérêt à travailler en étroite collaboration avec votre transporteur pour vous assurer qu’il respecte bien toutes les règles.

À l’arrivée des marchandises au point d’entrée canadien, le transporteur doit déclarer l’expédition à l’ASFC en remplissant le document de contrôle du fret ou en utilisant le système d'échange de données informatisées de l’Agence. Le Mémorandum D3-1-1 fournit de plus amples renseignements sur les procédures administratives ayant trait à l’importation et au transport de marchandises.

Calcul du prix au débarquement

Pour franchir les douanes canadiennes, les importations doivent être des produits admissibles. Les importations considérées comme des marchandises réglementées ne sont admissibles qu’à certaines conditions. Les marchandises prohibées ne peuvent quant à elles être importées. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Guide de l'importateur, étape par étape de l’ASFC.

Une fois certain que vos importations sont admissibles, vous pouvez calculer leur prix au débarquement. Celui-ci est égal au coût original de l’article, plus tous les frais additionnels comme les commissions de courtage et de logistique, les frais d’expédition, les droits de douane et la taxe de manutention. Il vous faut connaître le prix au débarquement pour bien comptabiliser vos marchandises, ce qui fait partie intégrante du processus d’importation.

Déclaration des marchandises

Vous êtes tenu de fournir des documents confirmant la valeur, la classification, le pays d’origine et le traitement tarifaire des marchandises importées, ainsi que le taux de change à la date d’expédition. Ces documents sont :

  • le document de contrôle du fret, en deux exemplaires;
  • la facture, en deux exemplaires;
  • le formulaire B3 (PDF) (la formule de codage de Douanes Canada), en deux exemplaires;
  • tout permis d’importation, certificat sanitaire ou autre formulaire requis;
  • un certificat d’origine, si nécessaire.

Une fois ces renseignements fournis et le prix au débarquement calculé, vous pouvez régler les taxes et les droits applicables, après quoi la marchandise vous sera remise.

Vous pouvez aussi demander d’obtenir vos marchandises avant le paiement des taxes et des droits. Cette procédure, appelée mainlevée contre documentation minimale (MDM), requiert un dépôt de garantie à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) pour la mainlevée anticipée de vos marchandises. Vous devrez toutefois présenter tous les documents de déclaration dans les délais fixés, sous peine de sanctions pécuniaires.

Il est à noter que vous devez conserver les documents d’importation (format électronique ou papier) pendant six ans, à défaut de quoi vous pourriez recevoir une amende ou vous voir refuser le traitement tarifaire préférentiel. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le Mémorandum D17-1-21, ou encore les pages Programmes des importateurs et Tarif des douanes du site de l’AFSC.

Inspection des importations

Vos importations peuvent subir une inspection à n’importe quel point de la chaîne d’approvisionnement afin de vérifier si elles sont conformes aux exigences douanières et autres règlements du gouvernement. La fréquence des inspections dépend de vos antécédents en matière de conformité et du type de marchandises importées. Règle générale, les autorités douanières facturent les services requis lors de l’inspection, notamment pour le déchargement et le chargement de la marchandise.

Pénalités de non-conformité

Les pénalités de non-conformité commerciale au Canada sont le plus souvent le résultat d’infractions commises par des transporteurs et de violations des règlements sur les importations et les exportations, lesquelles sont traitées par le Régime de sanctions administratives pécuniaires (RSAP) de l’ASFC. Le montant des sanctions est établi en fonction du type, de la fréquence et de la gravité de l’infraction.

Parmi les cas de non-conformité communs, notons le non-paiement des droits, le défaut de fournir les renseignements requis à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), le retrait non autorisé de marchandises d’un entrepôt, la livraison directe de marchandises avant obtention de la mainlevée de l’ASFC, et la non-déclaration de marchandises à l’ASFC.

Réduction des droits et des taxes

Si vos intrants proviennent en partie de l’étranger, vous pourriez réduire ou éliminer les droits exigés par les douanes canadiennes, et peut-être même la TPS et la TVH.

  • Le Programme d'exonération des droits est administré par l’ASFC. Si vous êtes admissibles, l’Agence pourrait reporter les droits et les taxes que vous paieriez normalement sur vos importations, vous les rembourser ou vous en exonérer.
  • Le programme de centres de distribution des exportations, administré par l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), est conçu pour encourager les entreprises qui importent des marchandises ou en acquièrent au Canada, les transforment pour y ajouter une valeur limitée, puis les exportent.
  • Le programme des exportateurs de services de traitement, lui aussi administré par l’ARC, dispense les participants de l’obligation de payer la TPS et la TVH sur les marchandises importées appartenant à des clients non résidents, pourvu que ces marchandises soient importées pour traitement, distribution ou entreposage, puis exportées.

Logistique internationale

La logistique internationale est plus complexe et exige plus de temps que la logistique nationale, pour plusieurs raisons, notamment l’éloignement, l’augmentation des risques durant l’expédition et la multiplication des formalités administratives, pour n’en nommer que trois. La question de la conformité s’en trouve elle aussi plus complexe.

Expédition directe

Si vous exportez vers un pays avec lequel le Canada a conclu un accord de libre-échange ou un accord commercial préférentiel, vos marchandises doivent conserver leur statut d’origine canadienne pour bénéficier des avantages tarifaires prévus par l’accord. Pour ce faire, vous devez envoyer la marchandise à destination par expédition directe. La définition de ce mode d’expédition varie selon l’accord commercial; c’est pourquoi vous devriez revoir les règles avant d’expédier vos marchandises, afin qu’elles ne perdent pas leur origine canadienne.

Dans le cas de l’ALENA, par exemple, les marchandises admissibles à un taux de droit préférentiel deviennent inadmissibles si :

  • elles sont soustraites au contrôle douanier ailleurs qu’en Amérique du Nord; ou
  • elles font l’objet d’une opération quelconque ailleurs qu’en Amérique du Nord, autre que celles requises pour les conserver en bon état ou les transporter hors du Canada, du Mexique ou des États-Unis (comme le déchargement et le chargement de l’expédition).

Notons que le pays importateur peut exiger des preuves papier confirmant que la marchandise a été transportée suivant les règles de l’expédition directe.

Assurances

L’assurance transport est parfois exigée dans les contrats de vente, mais même lorsqu’elle ne l’est pas, vous devez assurer votre marchandise pendant son transit. Cette forme d’assurance logistique est appelée communément assurance maritime, mais elle couvre les risques associés à tous les modes de transport, que ce soit par bateau, par avion, par camion ou par train. Certaines entreprises se spécialisent dans ce type de protection. Votre expéditeur devrait être en mesure de vous en recommander.

L’assurance maritime couvre quatre grands types de risque :

  • Les catastrophes - Ce type de risque touche le navire, l’aéronef ou le véhicule quelconque transportant les marchandises expédiées, ou le lieu où elles sont entreposées. Il comprend les naufrages, les incendies, les inondations, les collisions et les autres événements imprévisibles.
  • Les accidents et les risques fortuits - Ce type de risque touche la marchandise elle-même plutôt que le véhicule de transport, et comprend les accidents comme les chutes, l’écrasement, les bris, la corrosion et la contamination.
  • Les autres risques - Les risques de ce type ne sont ni accidentels, ni fortuits, mais demeurent hors de votre contrôle. Ils comprennent le vol et les menus larcins, le défaut de livraison, la piraterie et les dommages volontaires.
  • Les guerres et autres risques politiques - Ces risques comprennent les événements comme les guerres, les attaques, les troubles civils et le terrorisme.

La police d’assurance couvre habituellement la marchandise du moment où elle quitte l’entrepôt jusqu’à l’un ou l’autre des événements suivants :

  • elle atteint la destination précisée dans la police;
  • elle est déchargée du navire depuis 60 jours;
  • elle est déchargée de l’aéronef depuis 30 jours.

Le délai de 30 ou de 60 jours a été instauré en prévision des situations où la marchandise est entreposée temporairement en attente de l’inspection douanière et, par conséquent, n’a pas atteint sa destination finale.

Transport de marchandises dangereuses

Des règlements spéciaux s’appliquent à l’expédition de marchandises dangereuses comme les explosifs, les gaz et les substances corrosives. Ces règlements régissent le choix et l’utilisation du contenant et du mode de transport, le chargement et l’arrimage de l’expédition, et la certification des expéditions de marchandises dangereuses.

Au Canada, ce processus est régi par le Règlement sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses (Règlement sur le TMD), administré par Transports Canada. Le Règlement s’applique à toutes les parties intervenant dans l’expédition de marchandises dangereuses, y compris les fabricants, les producteurs et les entreprises de logistique. Si vous vous demandez si la marchandise que vous expédiez est dangereuse, ou si vous avez des questions au sujet du processus et des demandes d’autorisation, communiquez avec le bureau du TMD de votre région.

Incoterms

Bon nombre des clauses des contrats à l’exportation utilisent les incoterms. Il s’agit de termes officiels fixant certaines responsabilités de l’exportateur et de l’importateur dans une transaction de commerce international, surtout sur le plan de la logistique. Les incoterms sont très populaires parce qu’ils sont acceptés partout et peuvent dissiper beaucoup des incertitudes associées au commerce international. Ils définissent des termes de logistique sur les aspects suivants :

  • Coûts : Qui est responsable des dépenses associées à une expédition à chaque étape du transit. Exemple : les frais d’emballage pour exportation, les frais de transport international et les droits de douane.
  • Contrôle : Qui est propriétaire de l’expédition à chaque étape du transit.
  • Responsabilité : Qui est responsable de l’expédition pendant le transit.

Un nouvel ensemble d’incoterms, les Incoterms 2010, est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011. Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Web des incoterms (en anglais seulement), ou consultez le document Shipping and Incoterms du PNUD.

Emballage pour transport international

Peu importe leur destination, vos marchandises doivent résister à trois grands dangers en transport : le bris, l’humidité et le vol. Elles devraient aussi résister aux chargements et aux déchargements répétés, aux averses, au passage dans les goulottes et aux chutes accidentelles. Pour être certain que votre emballage est adéquat et conforme aux règlements applicables, consultez votre expéditeur.

Il est dans votre intérêt de bien emballer votre marchandise, car si elle arrive à destination endommagée et que l’emballage est en cause, votre acheteur la refusera et pourrait décider de ne plus faire affaire avec vous. Notez que les compagnies d’assurance refusent souvent de rembourser la marchandise endommagée en raison d’un emballage inadéquat.

L’étiquetage approprié des expéditions facilite l’inspection et le dédouanement au point d’entrée. Vos étiquettes devraient être grandes, claires et à l’épreuve de l’eau. Les renseignements à inscrire sont :

  • la destination ainsi que le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone du destinataire (ces renseignements doivent figurer sur au moins trois faces du colis : le dessus, un côté et un bout);
  • les avertissements qui s’imposent;
  • les consignes de transit;
  • les dimensions et le poids du colis;
  • le numéro du colis;
  • la facture ou le numéro de commande.