• 1-800-229-0575
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Français
  • Login

Taxes

This section provides a general overview of the tax issues you’ll face as either an importer or exporter. To ensure that you comply with Canadian and foreign tax laws, however, it is imperative to obtain advice from qualified accounting and legal professionals.

Tax Compliance for Exporters

Goods and services that are normally subject to GST or HST may be untaxed when exported from Canada; in this case, they are referred to as “zero-rated” goods or services.

The simplest case is when you deliver your products to a purchaser outside Canada. In this situation, they are automatically zero-rated and you do not charge GST/HST to the purchaser. If you deliver them to a purchaser inside Canada, however, they are zero-rated only if certain conditions are met. A full list of these conditions is available on the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) web site.

Tax Compliance for Importers

The first step in tax compliance is to determine the landed cost of your imports. This will allow you to calculate the taxes you’ll have to pay on the goods.

Determining landed cost

To determine the landed cost of imported goods, you must classify them properly according to the Harmonized System (HS) as described in the section “Classification and Valuation.” This allows you to:

  • identify any most-favoured-nation duty rates that may apply to the goods;
  • value the goods under the WTO Customs Valuation Agreement (see section “Valuation of goods”); and
  • determine whether the goods qualify for a lower rate of duty under a preferential trade agreement that Canada has with the country of origin.

Goods and Services Tax

Most goods imported into Canada are subject to the federal GST, which is calculated at the rate of 5 per cent of the duty-paid value of the shipment. This tax must be paid at time of entry and is collected at the border, unless the goods are going directly to a bonded warehouse. In this case, the GST is collected when the goods leave the warehouse and become eligible for sale in Canada. For more details, refer to the CRA’s GST/HST Instructions for Importers and Exporters.

Harmonized Sales Tax

Several provinces have combined the GST with their provincial sales taxes on various categories of goods, thus creating a Harmonized Sales Tax (HST). If you are GST-registered, then you are automatically HST-registered and must charge accordingly when selling to a customer in a participating province. On most commercial imports, however, only the federal (GST) portion of the HST is applied to the sale.

Exemptions from GST/HST

Many imported goods are not taxed under the GST or HST. Among them are:

  • Farm livestock, basic groceries, prescription drugs and medical/assistive devices. See Schedule VI of the Excise Tax Act.
  • Certain goods and services used in the delivery of health care, educational, child and personal care services. See Schedule V of the Excise Tax Act.
  • Medals, trophies, prizes, tourist literature, goods donated to a charity or public institution, goods used for repairs (if re-exported after the repair is completed), inputs for goods to be shipped to non-residents, warranty items and parts, and goods valued at less than $20 sent by mail or courier. See Schedule VII of the Excise Tax Act.

Non-resident importers

As described in the section “The importer of record,” non-resident importers (NRIs) are companies located outside Canada that supply goods to Canadian purchasers, but take full responsibility for the Canadian customs transactions involved in delivering those goods. This means that they pay all duties and taxes at the time the goods enter Canada, thus freeing the Canadian purchaser from these responsibilities.

• Appelez EDC1-800-229-0575
  • Contactez-nous
  • Carrières
  • English
Connexion

Règles fiscales

La présente section donne un aperçu des questions fiscales sur lesquelles vous devrez vous pencher en tant qu’importateur ou exportateur. Pour avoir la certitude que vous respectez les lois fiscales canadiennes et étrangères, vous devez impérativement prendre conseil auprès d’un comptable ou d’un juriste compétent.

Conformité des exportateurs aux règles fiscales

services (TPS) ou à la taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) peuvent en être exonérés s’ils sont exportés du Canada; dans ce cas, on parle de biens et services « détaxés ».

Le cas le plus simple est celui où vous expédiez vos produits à un acheteur étranger. Dans cette situation, ils sont automatiquement détaxés, et vous ne facturez pas la TPS ou la TVH à l’acheteur. Si vous livrez vos produits à un acheteur au Canada, ils seront exempts de taxe seulement si certaines conditions sont respectées. Vous trouverez une liste exhaustive de ces conditions sur le site Web de l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

Conformité des importateurs aux règles fiscales

Les importateurs qui cherchent à se conformer aux règles fiscales doivent d’abord déterminer le prix au débarquement des marchandises importées, ce qui leur permettra de calculer les taxes exigibles.

Établissement du prix au débarquement

Pour déterminer le prix au débarquement de marchandises importées, vous devez les classer selon le Système harmonisé (SH), comme on l’explique à la section Règles de classification et d’évaluation des marchandises. Vous pourrez ainsi :

  • déterminer les tarifs de la nation la plus favorisée potentiellement applicables à vos marchandises;
  • établir la valeur de vos marchandises conformément à l’Accord sur l’évaluation en douane de l’OMC (voir la section Établissement de la valeur des marchandises);
  • déterminer si vos marchandises sont admissibles à un tarif réduit en vertu d’un accord commercial préférentiel conclu entre le Canada et le pays d’origine.

Taxe sur les produits et services

La plupart des marchandises importées au Canada sont assujetties à la taxe fédérale sur les produits et services (TPS), qui correspond à 5 % de la valeur à l’acquitté des marchandises. Cette taxe est prélevée à la frontière au moment où les marchandises entrent au pays, sauf si celles-ci sont directement expédiées à un entrepôt de stockage, auquel cas la TPS n’est perçue qu’au moment où les marchandises quittent l’entrepôt et peuvent être vendues sur le marché canadien. Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous sur le site de l’Agence du revenu du Canada et prenez connaissance des règles concernant la TPS/TVH qui s’appliquent aux importateurs et aux exportateurs.

Taxe de vente harmonisée

Plusieurs provinces ont combiné la TPS avec leur taxe de vente provinciale; elles ont ainsi créé une taxe de vente harmonisée (TVH) qu’elles appliquent à diverses catégories de biens. Si vous êtes inscrit aux fins de la TPS, vous êtes alors automatiquement inscrit aux fins de la TVH; vous devez donc prélever cette taxe auprès de vos acheteurs des provinces participantes. Cependant, la plupart des importations commerciales ne sont assujetties qu’à la fraction fédérale (TPS) de la TVH.

Exemptions de TPS ou de TVH

Bon nombre de marchandises importées sont exonérées de la TPS ou de la TVH. En voici quelques-unes :

  • le bétail, les produits alimentaires de base, les médicaments sur ordonnance, les appareils médicaux et les appareils fonctionnels (voir l’annexe VI de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise);
  • certains biens et services utilisés pour la prestation de services de santé, d’enseignement, de garde d’enfants et de soins personnels (voir l’annexe V de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise);
  • les médailles, les trophées et les autres prix; la documentation touristique; les biens donnés à un organisme de bienfaisance ou à une institution publique; les biens importés pour réparation (s’ils sont réexportés une fois la réparation effectuée); les intrants de produits devant être expédiés à un non-résident; les pièces de rechange et les biens de remplacement visés par une garantie; les biens d’une valeur inférieure à 20 $ envoyés par la poste ou par service de messagerie (voir l’annexe VII de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise).

Importateurs non résidents

Comme l’explique la section Importateur attitré, les importateurs non résidents (INR) sont des entreprises établies à l’extérieur du Canada qui fournissent des marchandises à des acheteurs canadiens, mais qui assument l’entière responsabilité des formalités douanières : elles payent l’ensemble des taxes et des droits exigibles au moment où les marchandises entrent au Canada, ce qui décharge les acheteurs canadiens de ces responsabilités.