Home > Home > About Us > Management and Governance > Compliance Officer

Compliance Officer

EDC’s Vice-President and Chief Compliance and Ethics Officer role serves to enhance the Corporation’s transparency and accountability. The Officer receives and reviews complaints from stakeholders which may include fielding internal inquiries with respect to EDC’s Code of Conduct and Code of Business Ethics, the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector, the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, and EDC’s Wrongdoings Policy, as well as external inquiries regarding our Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) policies and initiatives.

EDC employees are required to abide by the public-sector-wide Values and Ethics Code introduced on April 2, 2012. The Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector sets out high level values and principles which are consistent with EDC’s own Code of Conduct and Code of Business Ethics. EDC’s Chief Compliance and Ethics Officer is the contact person for members of the public who may have reason to believe an EDC employee is not complying with the Public Sector Code.

Scott Driscoll, Chief Compliance & Ethics Officer

Scott Driscoll was appointed as EDC’s first Vice-President and Chief Compliance and Ethics Officer in July 2015. He is a seasoned senior banking executive with more than 20 years of regulatory compliance experience in both the public and private financial sectors. After more than 10 years with the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI), the primary federal financial institution regulator in Canada, Mr. Driscoll moved to the private sector, where his experience included senior management positions and C-level board appointments accountable for ensuring the ongoing development, assessment and monitoring of programs for compliance with regulatory expectations and requirements. He has held roles including Chief Compliance Officer, Chief Anti-Money Laundering Officer, Chief Privacy Officer and Ombudsman. Scott holds a MBA, a Bachelor of Social Sciences and a Bachelor of Arts.

Guidelines for submitting a complaint

Who can File a Complaint

Any individual, group, community, entity or other party affected or likely to be affected by EDC’s corporate social responsibility policies and initiatives can submit a complaint. If a complaint is being made on behalf of another party, that group should be identified and evidence of authority to represent that group provided. Anonymous complaints are not accepted, however, material can be submitted confidentially to support a complaint. This information will not be released without the consent of the party who provided the information.

What to Include in a Complaint

The complaint must be in writing, or submitted electronically via our Request for Review Form. While it does not need to follow a specific format, it does help to speed up the process if we receive the following details:

  • Your name, address and other contact information such as phone and fax numbers, cell phone, email address.
  • If you are representing a complainant, please provide contact information for yourself and the group/person you are representing.
  • Background information on your complaint, including the names of any people you may have dealt with in an attempt to resolve the issue or raise your concerns.
  • A clear statement outlining your opinion of the social, business or environmental impact of the problem.
  • Your opinion on the desired result or outcome of an investigation so that we have a clear understanding of what you expect from the process.
  • What has been done to solve the problem, including any previous contact with EDC.

Acknowledging Receipt

You will receive acknowledgement usually within five business days.

Appraising a Complaint

The Compliance Officer will determine if a complaint falls within the mandate. Complaints that are accepted are registered in a database and given an identifying number to help ensure they are dealt with in a timely fashion. You will be notified immediately when a complaint has been accepted and given an estimate of how long it will take to review. If it is decided to reject the complaint, you will receive a letter outlining the reasons.

Preliminary Assessment

A preliminary assessment is done to evaluate the complaint and determine how it should be handled. This concludes with a decision of whether to proceed and, if so, an outline of the course of action proposed.

Resolution of a Complaint

Depending on the nature of the complaint and the Compliance Officer’s assessment, one of three options will be recommended to resolve the complaint as follows:

  • Promotion of dialogue
  • Dispute resolution or
  • Compliance audit.


The Compliance Officer can conclude or close a complaint at any time if a satisfactory resolution has been reached or when it is felt further investigation or problem-solving techniques will not be useful or productive. You will be advised in writing if this decision is made. When this happens, the Compliance Officer has two courses of action available:

  • Report to the Board of Directors that attempts have not been successful and that no further action is possible.
  • Report to the Board of Directors and make recommendations about future action, which could address concerns in the complaint.

Monitoring and Follow-up

As part of the resolution, the Compliance Officer will include a process for follow up monitoring and review. The Compliance Officer can ask EDC to help ensure monitoring and follow up is done.

Confidentiality and Disclosure

The ombudsman-like role works in such a way that the confidentiality of information needed to run an effective process is given priority over the actual product or outcome. The idea is that an open and flexible attitude toward problem-solving is more likely if resolution processes are conducted with a reasonable level of confidentiality. Therefore, communication with parties during the course of dispute resolution process will be regarded as privileged. Similar constraints will apply when confidential business information is received during investigations.

How to submit a complaint

English and French complaints can be emailed to complianceofficer@edc.ca

You can also fill in an electronic Request for Review Form.

Annual Report

Reaching For Our Export Potential - 2014 Annual Report

Detailed information on our performance measures and highlights.

Trade Protect

Don’t wait until it’s too late.

Make sure you get paid with EDC credit insurance.

• Appelez EDC1-800-229-0575
  • Contactez-nous
  • Carrières
  • English
Connexion
Home > Accueil > À propos de nous > Gestion et gouvernance > Agent chargé de la conformité

Agent chargé de la conformité

Le rôle du Vice-président et Chef de la conformité et de l’éthique à EDC est d’accroître la transparence et la responsabilisation au sein de la Société. Le Chef de la conformité et de l’éthique reçoit et examine les plaintes des parties intéressées, ce qui peut inclure le triage de questions internes concernant le Code de conduite et le Code d’éthique commerciale d’EDC, le Code de valeurs et d’éthique du secteur public, de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles et de la Politique sur la divulgation d'actes répréhensibles d’EDC , ainsi que le traitement de demandes externes sur nos politiques et initiatives en matière de Responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE).

Les employés d’EDC sont tenus de respecter le Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public entré en vigueur le 2 avril 2012. Le Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public établit des valeurs et principes de haut niveau qui sont conformes au Code de conduite et au Code d’éthique commerciale d’EDC. Le Chef de la conformité et de l’éthique à EDC agit à titre de personne-ressource auprès des membres du public qui auraient raison de croire qu’un employé d’EDC ne respecte pas le nouveau Code du secteur public.

Profil – Scott Driscoll, Chef de la conformité et de l’éthique

Scott Driscoll est le tout premier Vice-président et chef de la conformité et de l’éthique à EDC, poste auquel il a été nommé en juillet 2015. Ayant occupé de nombreux postes de haute direction dans le secteur bancaire, M. Driscoll a accumulé plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de la conformité réglementaire dans les secteurs financiers public et privé. Après avoir passé plus de 10 ans au Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF), principal organisme de réglementation des institutions financières fédérales au Canada, M. Driscoll est passé au secteur privé, où il a occupé des postes de haute direction et été nommé à des postes de niveau C au sein de conseils d’administration, ayant la responsabilité de garantir le développement, l’évaluation et la surveillance soutenus de divers programmes afin d’en assurer la conformité avec les attentes et exigences réglementaires. Il a détenu divers autres postes, dont ceux de chef de l’éthique, chef de la lutte contre le blanchiment ainsi que chef de la protection des renseignements personnels et ombudsman. M. Driscoll est titulaire d’un MBA, d’un baccalauréat en sciences sociales et d’un baccalauréat des arts.

Lignes directrices pour soumettre une plainte

Qui peut porter plainte?

Les personnes, les groupes, les collectivités ou toute partie touchée par les politiques et les initiatives d’EDC ayant trait au domaine de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises sont habilités à porter plainte. Lorsque la plainte est déposée pour le compte d’une autre partie, l’identité de cette partie doit être connue et il doit y avoir preuve du droit de représentation. Les plaintes anonymes ne seront pas acceptées. Toutefois, il est possible de soumettre de la documentation à titre confidentiel en vue d’appuyer une plainte. Cette documentation ne peut être révélée sans le consentement de la partie qui l’a fournie.

Que doit inclure une plainte?

La plainte doit être soumise sous la forme d’un document écrit ou par voie électronique au moyen du Formulaire de demande d’examen. Il n’y a pas de format prescrit. Cependant, les renseignements suivants aideront à accélérer le processus :

  • le nom, l’adresse et tout autre renseignement utile tel que le numéro de téléphone et de télécopieur, le numéro de téléphone cellulaire et l’adresse électronique;
  • si vous représentez la partie plaignante, veuillez indiquer vos coordonnées ainsi que celles du groupe ou de la personne que vous représentez;
  • veuillez expliquer le contexte de votre plainte et indiquer le nom des personnes qui ont pu vous aider à la présenter ou à résoudre le litige. énoncez clairement votre opinion sur l’impact social, commercial ou environnemental du problème que vous soulevez;
  • énoncez vos attentes quant aux résultats ou à l’issue d’une enquête (de cette façon, nous comprendrons clairement ce à quoi vous vous attendez du processus);
  • décrivez les mesures prises jusqu’à présent pour résoudre le litige, y compris tout contact antérieur avec EDC.

Accusé de réception

Vous recevrez un accusé de réception de votre plainte, généralement dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables.

Évaluation d’une plainte

Il appartient à l’agent chargé de la conformité de déterminer si une plainte est recevable dans le cadre de son mandat. Les plaintes reçues sont consignées dans une base de données, où elles sont identifiées au moyen d’un numéro. De cette façon, elles peuvent être traitées en temps opportun. La partie plaignante est avisée immédiatement lorsque sa plainte est reçue et on lui indique la durée approximative de la procédure d’examen.

Lorsque la plainte est rejetée, la partie plaignante reçoit une lettre en énonçant les motifs de rejet.

Évaluation préliminaire

La plainte fait d’abord l’objet d’une évaluation préliminaire en vue de déterminer la meilleure façon de la traiter. À la suite de cette évaluation, on statue sur sa recevabilité, et dans l’affirmative, un plan d’action est proposé.

Règlement d’une plainte

Selon la nature de la plainte et les conclusions de l’agent chargé de la conformité, une des trois options suivantes sera proposée pour régler le litige :

  • incitation au dialogue
  • règlement du litige ou
  • vérification de conformité

Conclusion

L’agent chargé de la conformité peut à tout moment mettre fin au processus de résolution d’une plainte si elle juge que le litige a été réglé de manière satisfaisante. Quand il est improductif ou inutile de poursuivre des démarches en vue de le régler, la partie plaignante est avisée de cette décision par écrit.

Dans ce cas, l’agent chargé de la conformité dispose des deux options suivantes :

  • aviser le Conseil d’administration que les mesures entreprises n’ont pas réussi à régler le litige et qu’il n’y a rien d’autre à faire;
  • formuler au Conseil d’administration des recommandations quant aux actions pouvant être prises ultérieurement en vue de régler le litige.

Surveillance et suivi

Comme partie intégrante des mesures de règlement, l’agent chargé de la conformité peut décider d’effectuer une surveillance et un suivi après le règlement et peut demander l’appui d’EDC à cet égard.

Confidentialité et divulgation

Dans le cadre de ce rôle, la confidentialité des renseignements prime sur le litige lui-même ainsi que sur son dénouement. L’idée est qu’une attitude ouverte et flexible est plus plausible si le processus de résolution est conduit avec un niveau de confidentialité raisonnable.

Par conséquent, toute communication avec les parties engagées dans un litige en cours de règlement sera considérée comme privilégiée. Une contrainte similaire s’applique lorsque des renseignements commerciaux de nature confidentielle sont reçus durant l’enquête.

Comment soumettre une plainte

Les plaintes rédigées en anglais ou en français peuvent être envoyées à : agentechargeedelaconformite@edc.ca.

Il est également possible de soumettre une plainte au moyen du formulaire de demande d'examen.

Rapport annuel

« Transformer le commerce » - Rapport annuel 2016

Pour tout savoir sur notre performance : indicateurs et faits saillants.