• 1-800-229-0575
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Français
  • Login

Equator Principles

In October 2007, EDC joined a growing list of international financial institutions committed to the Equator Principles, a financial industry benchmark for the determination, assessment and management of social and environmental risk in project financing.

Prior to adopting the Equator Principles, and since 2003, EDC has also been applying the Organisation of Economic Co-Operation and Development’s Common Approaches on the Environment, which binds export credit agencies to specific environmental and social review practices. EDC views the Equator Principles as a complement to the Common Approaches, and enables EDC to bridge the leading practices of both ECAs and commercial financial institutions. EDC’s other commitments to assessing projects is cemented in its corporate Environmental and Social Risk Management Policy and the EDC Environmental and Social Review Directive (ERD). The ERD sets out the process by which EDC will assess the environmental and social impacts (and mitigation measures) of a project, and is a legally-binding requirement for EDC under the laws of Canada.

The Equator Principles, the Common Approaches, and the ERD are aligned in the requirement for projects to meet the elements of the same international standards, namely the International Finance Corporation’s Performance Standards on Social and Environmental Sustainability and sector-specific Environmental, Health, and Safety Guidelines. By aligning these requirements, clients of ECAs and commercial financial institutions benefit from meeting the same standards when undertaking environmental and social impact assessments.

Further detail on EDC’s project review process is described in Understanding EDC’s Project Review Process.

EDC’s Implementation of the Equator Principles

Dedicated Resources

EDC has a dedicated team of environmental and social specialists, tasked with implementing EDC’s environmental and social review processes and procedures, including conducting reviews under the Equator Principles. The Environmental Advisory Services (EAS) team consists of environmental and social advisors, reporting to the Director of Environmental Advisory Services and the Vice-President of Corporate Social Responsibility. With different backgrounds including environmental science, biology, engineering, business, and international development, the team draws on a breadth of experience and knowledge relevant to the environmental and social risk assessment field.

Integration of Environmental and Social Review

Projects are examined by EAS for potential adverse environmental and social impacts.

Initially, EDC has various forums in place including team alignment meetings, huddles, and a triaging committee, that help identify deal related issues. At this point in time, EAS then look for areas that may not be aligned with our internal policies on human rights, environmental and social responsibility. Depending on the degree to which projects measure up to the internationally recognized standards noted above, we will either engage project sponsors in further dialogue, discuss ways to deal with any serious issues, or, if gaps cannot be addressed, we decline the project outright.

Should we proceed to the next stage, EDC takes an in-depth look at the project design and evaluates the Environmental and Social Impact Assessment provided by the project developer/sponsor. Information requirements and the depth of EDC’s review are linked to the project categorization: Category A, B or C. In some cases, a lender’s group, of which EDC is a member, hires a number of specialized advisors to assist with a more detailed review. An independent environmental and social expert will provide unbiased input about the project’s potential impacts, adequacy of the mitigation measures and the project’s ability to meet international standards. Transactions supporting projects are reviewed by senior leadership during the due diligence process prior to signing of the loan.

EAS also ensures the project developer/sponsor formulates an environmental and social action plan. The plan will describe and prioritize time-limited commitments to complete any additional measures that the project will satisfy EDC and that it has fully met the requirements of the IFC Performance Standards. If the outcome of this stage is favourable, the environmental and social review must be authorized by EDC's President. After the loan agreement is signed, EDC continues to monitor the project for compliance.

For a list of transactions that underwent a review under the Equator Principles, see table below.​

Equator Principles transactions reaching financial close during 20171

Seven Project Finance transactions and two Project Related Corporate Loan transactions, reached financial close during 2017.

​Project Name ​Project Description ​Sector ​Region ​Project in Designated Country2 Project Finance (PF) or PRCL​3 ​Independent Review Performed ​International Standards Applied
​ ​Category A Projects
Norte III Combined Cycle Power Plant Design, financing, construction, operation and maintenance of a 906MW combined cycle gas turbine power plant that includes a power station and water supply system, located in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua. Power Americas (Mexico) ​No PF​ ​Yes ​IFC Performance Standards
Category B Projects​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ ​
BRI Wind Farms 5 Limited (Temple V) Two wind farms ( 25.5 MW and 43.5 MW) located in Ireland. Power

Europe, Middle East and Africa (Ireland)

Yes PF Yes Host Country Standards
Minera Valle Central (MVC) Expnasion of MVC's infrastructure for the collection of Codelco's mine tailings for secondary processing within MVC's enhanced copper recovery plant.​​ Mining​ Americas (Chile)​ Yes​ PF​​ Yes​​ Host Country Standards, IFC Performance Standards​
Salalah Methanol Company LLC (SFZ)​ Design, construction and operation of the Ammonia Plant and supporting transport pipeline to the POS, as well as modifications to the existing Methanol Plant to supply processing product.​ Other​ Europe, Middle East and Africa (Oman)​ No​ PF​ Yes​ IFC Performance Standards​
Fastpower Argentina Projects​ Design, construction and operation of two gas fired power plants, located in the Neuquén and Tucumán provinces totaling 374MW.​ Power​ Americas (Argentina)​ No​ PF​ Yes​ IFC Performance Standards​
DEWA III Solar Park​ The Project consists of an 800MW solar photovoltaic power project. The solar plant will connect to and export its power through a 400/132 kV substation to be built and operated by the off-taker. Interconnection between the plant and the substation will be made through 132 kV underground cables.​ Power​ Europe, Middle East and Africa (United Arab Emirates)​ No​ PF​ Yes​ IFC EHS Guidelines​
Gas To The West Project​ The project consists of the construction and operation of 185km of high and intermediate pressure pipelines, which will extend the natural gas network into the west of Northern Ireland.​ Oil and Gas​ Europe, Middle East and Africa (United Kingdom)​ Yes​ PF​ No​ Host Country Standards​
Grayling Mill Project​ Construction of a greenfield particle board manufacturing mill - the Grayling Particle Board Plant in Grayling, Michigan, USA.​ Resources​ Americas (United States)​ Yes​ PRCL​ No​ Host Country Standards​
PLN Batam Fast Power Project​ Installation of 20 x 25 MW mobile power units at eight sites throughout Indonesia.​ Power​ Asia-Pacific (Indonesia)​ No​ PRCL​ No​ IFC Performance Standards​

A summary of EDC’s assessment of the environmental and social impacts is prepared for all Category A projects. Those reviews can be found in this table.

 1 Equator Principles III requires reporting on transactions which have reached financial close.  For additional detail see The Equator Principles, June 2013
2 Designated Countries are those countries deemed to have robust environmental and social governance, legislation systems and institutional capacity designed to protect their people and the natural environment.
3 Project-Related Corporate Loans are corporate loans, made to business entities related to a single Project, either a new development or expansion, where the Known Use of Proceeds is related to a single Project. For additional detail see The Equator Principles, June 2013.

 

​Project Finance ​ ​Project-Related Corporate Loans ​
​Sector ​Category A Category B Category A Category B​
​Mining ​​
​Power 1​
Others​
​Totals 1 6 0 2
Region
​Americas 1 ​2   1​
​Europe, Middle East and Africa 4
​Asia Pacific 1​​
​Totals 1 6 0 2
Country Designation
​Designated Country 3​ 1​
​Non-Designated Country 1 3​ 1​​
​Totals 1 6 2
Independent Review Performed
​Yes 1 5 ​​
​No  1 2​​
​Totals 1 6 2

EDC et les Principes de l’Équateur - Exportation et développement Canada (EDC)
  • 1-800-229-0575
  • Contactez-nous
  • Carrières
  • English
  • Connexion

EDC et les Principes de l’Équateur

En octobre 2007, suivant en cela une liste croissante d’institutions financières internationales, EDC a adhéré aux Principes de l’Équateur, une référence de l’industrie financière pour déterminer, évaluer et gérer les risques sociaux et environnementaux en financement de projets.

Préalablement à l’adoption des Principes de l’Équateur, EDC appliquait depuis 2003 les Approches communes sur l’environnement de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, qui oblige les organismes de crédit à l’exportation (OCE) à suivre des pratiques spécifiques pour examiner les risques environnementaux et sociaux. EDC considère les Principes de l’Équateur comme un complément aux Approches communes, qui lui permet de combler l’écart entre les pratiques exemplaires des OCE et celles des institutions financières commerciales. Les autres engagements d’EDC à l’égard de l’évaluation des projets sont scellés dans sa Politique de gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux et dans sa Directive en matière d’évaluation environnementale et sociale (la Directive). La Directive, qui établit le processus à suivre pour évaluer les effets environnementaux et sociaux (et les mesures d’atténuation) d’un projet, est une exigence juridiquement contraignante pour EDC en vertu des lois du Canada.

Les Principes de l’Équateur, les Approches communes et la Directive s’harmonisent à l’exigence visant à ce que les projets respectent les mêmes normes internationales, à savoir les Normes de performance en matière de durabilité sociale et environnementale de la Société financière internationale (IFC), et ses Directives environnementales, sanitaires et sécuritaires propres à chaque secteur. Pour les clients des OCE et les institutions financières commerciales, l’harmonisation de ces critères clarifie les normes à respecter dans le cadre de l’évaluation des incidences environnementales et sociales. Le processus d’examen des projets d’EDC est décrit plus précisément dans le document intitulé Le processus d'examen des projets.

Mise en application des Principes de l’Équateur à EDC

Ressources spécialisées

EDC s’est dotée d’une équipe de spécialistes des enjeux environnementaux et sociaux chargée d’appliquer les processus et les procédures de l’examen environnemental et social à EDC, notamment de mener des examens selon les termes des Principes de l’Équateur. Cette équipe, les Services consultatifs environnementaux (EAS), est formée de conseillers en environnement et en questions sociales et relève du directeur de groupe, EAS, et du vice-président, Responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Formés dans des disciplines diverses comme les sciences de l’environnement, la biologie, le génie, les affaires et le développement international, ses membres allient de riches expériences et connaissances pertinentes à l’évaluation des risques environnementaux et sociaux.

Intégration de l’examen environnemental et social

Les EAS examinent les projets pour détecter les éventuels effets environnementaux et sociaux néfastes. Dès le début, les membres de l’équipe disposent de divers forums, entre autres les caucus et le comité de triage, qui permettent d’identifier les enjeux liés aux transactions. À ce moment-là, ils examinent les points qui pourraient ne pas se conformer aux politiques internes d’EDC sur les droits de la personne, l’environnement et la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Selon le degré de conformité aux normes reconnues internationalement mentionnées ci-dessus, EDC décidera alors, soit d’engager le dialogue avec les parrains du projet, soit d’examiner les solutions permettant de régler les enjeux importants, soit encore, si les écarts ne peuvent être comblés, de refuser son appui au projet.

Si elle passe à la deuxième étape, EDC examine de façon approfondie le concept du projet ainsi que l’Évaluation des incidences environnementales et sociales fournie par le promoteur/le parrain du projet. L’information exigée par EDC et l’envergure de son examen dépendent de la catégorie du projet : Catégorie A, B ou C. Dans certains cas, un groupe de prêteurs, dont EDC est membre, recrute des conseillers spécialisés pour obtenir un examen encore plus détaillé. Un expert indépendant en questions environnementales et sociales est impartial dans ses commentaires sur les effets potentiels du projet, sur le caractère adéquat des mesures d'atténuation et sur la capacité du projet à respecter les normes internationales. Les cadres supérieurs d’EDC revoient les transactions qui appuient des projets au moment du contrôle préalable, avant la signature des prêts.

Les EAS veillent également à ce que le promoteur/le parrain du projet établisse un plan d'action environnemental et social. Ce plan doit décrire et prioriser les engagements, limités dans le temps, qui permettront de prendre toute autre mesure rendant le projet à la fois satisfaisant aux yeux d’EDC et respectant toutes les exigences formulées dans les normes de performance de l’IFC. Si, à cette étape, les résultats sont favorables, le président d’EDC doit autoriser l’examen environnemental et social. Une fois que l’accord de prêt est signé, EDC continue à suivre l’évolution de la conformité du projet.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des transactions qui ont été examinées selon les Principes de l’Équateur.

Transactions assujetties aux Principes de l'Équateur ayant atteint l'étape de la clôture financière en 20171

Sept transactions de financement de projets, et deux transactions de prêts aux entreprises liés à un projet ont atteint l'étape de la clôture financière en 2017.

​Nom du projet ​Description du projet ​Secteur ​Région Projet dans un pays désigné2 Financement de projets (FP) ou PELP3 ​Réalisation d’un examen indépendant Application des normes internationales
​ ​Projets de Catégorie A
Centrale à cycle combiné Norte III Conception, financement, construction, exploitation et entretien d'une centrale au gaz à cycle combiné de 906 MW, notamment d'une station électrique et d'un système d'alimentation en eau à Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua. Électricité​ Amérique (Mexique) Non FP Oui Critères de performance de l’IFC
Projets de Catégorie B​​
Parcs éoliens de BRI Wind Farms 5 Limited (Temple V) Deux parcs éoliens (25,5 MW et 43,5 MW) en Irlande. Électricité​ Europe Moyen-Orient et Afrique (Irlande​) Oui FP Oui Normes du pays d’accueil
Minera Valle Central (MVC) Expansion des infrastuctures de MVC pour la collecte des résidus de la mine Codelco en vue de leur transformation secondaire dans l'usine de récupération assisté du cuivre de MVC. Mines Amérique (Chili​) Oui FP Oui Normes du pays d’accueil, Critères de performance de l’IFC
Société Salalah Methanol LLC (SFZ) Conception, construction et exploitation d'une usine d'ammoniac et de son pipeline de transport vers POS, et modification de l'usine de méthanol actuelle pour la transformation du produit. Autres Europe Moyen-Orient et Afrique (Oman) Non FP Oui Critères de performance de l’IFC
Projets de Fastpower Argentina Conception, construction et exploitation de deux centrales thermiques dans les provinces de Neuquén et de Tucumán d'une puissance totale de 374 MW. Électricité​ Amérique (Argentine​) Non FP Oui Critères de performance de l’IFC
Parc solaire DEWA III Il s'agit d'un projet de panneaux d'énergie solaire de 800 MW qui sera raccordée à une sous-station solaire; cette dernière exportera 400/132 kV à partir d'une sous-station qui sera construite et exploitée par l'exploitant. Les raccordements entre la centrale et la sous-station nécessitera l'installation de câbles souterrains de 132 kV. Électricité​ Europe Moyen-Orient et Afrique (Émirats arabes unis​) Non FP Oui Lignes directrices IFC EHS
Projet gazier Gas To The West Il s'agit d'un projet comportant la construction et l'exploitation d'un réseau pipelinier à pression forte et intermédiaire de 185 km, qui prolongera le réseau gazier jusqu'au Nord de l'Irlande. Pétrole et gaz Europe Moyen-Orient et Afrique (Royaume-Uni​) Oui FP Non Normes du pays d’accueil
Projet d'usine de fabricaiton panneaux de particules Grayling Mill Construction d'une nouvelle usine de fabrication de panneaux de particules à Grayling, dans l'État du Michigan, aux É.-U. Resources Amérique (​États-Unis) Oui PELP Non Normes du pays d’accueil
Projets de centrales solaires mobiles de PLN Batam (Fast Power Project) Installation de centrales solaires mobiles de 20 x 25 MW à huit sites en Indonésie. Électricité​ Asie-Pacifique (Indonésie) Non PELP Non Critères de performance de l’IFC

EDC prépare un sommaire de l’évaluation des effets environnementaux et sociaux pour tous les projets de catégorie A. On peut consulter ces projets dans ce tableau.

1 Les Principes de l'Équateur III exigent un compte rendu des transactions ayant atteint l'étape de la clôture financière. Pour en savoir plus, lisez les Principes de l'Équateur, juin 2013
2 On entend par « pays désignés » les pays considérés comme possédant une solide gouvernance environnementale et sociale, un cadre législatif et des institutions robustes capables de protéger leurs populations et l’environnement naturel. 
Les « Prêts aux entreprises liés à un projet » sont les prêts accordés à des entités commerciales (privées, publiques, ou détenues ou contrôlées par l’État) liées à un seul projet spécifique, qu’il s’agisse d’un nouveau développement ou d’une extension, dès lors que l’utilisation connue du produit de l’emprunt est liée à un seul projet. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, visitez Les Principles de l'Équateur, juin 2013

​Financement de projets​ ​Prêts aux entreprises liés à des projets​
​Secteur ​Catégorie A Catégorie B Catégorie A Catégorie B​
​Mines  
Électricité ​1
Autres​ ​​
​Totaux 1 6 ​0 2
Région
​Amériques 1 2   ​1
​Europe Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord 4
​Asie-Pacifique 1​
​Totaux 1 6 0 2
Désignation du pays
​Projet dans un pays désigné 3 ​1
​Pays non désigné 1 3 1​
​Totaux 1 ​6 2
Réalisation d’un examen indépendant
​Oui 1 5  ​​
​Non 1 ​2
​Totaux 1 6 2