Audits - Export Development Canada (EDC)
  • 1-800-229-0575
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Français
  • Login

Audits

Auditor General of Canada

Our auditor is the Auditor General of Canada. The Auditor General performs special examinations and annual financial audits and audits the implementation of our Environmental and Social Review Directive.

We are a seven-time winner of the Auditor General's Award for Excellence in Financial Reporting.

Special Examinations

A special examination is a performance audit of a federal Crown corporation conducted by the Auditor General of Canada at least once every 10 years. The examinations provide an independent audit opinion to the Board of Directors and the appropriate Minister and Parliament on the management of EDC.

In particular, the Auditor General examines whether our financial, management and information systems and practices provide reasonable assurance that our assets are safeguarded and controlled; whether our financial, human and physical resources are managed economically and efficiently; and whether operations are carried out effectively.

The last Special Examination was conducted in 2009. The report noted: "The Corporation has in place the key elements of a good governance framework. It has a sound corporate planning process that provides clear direction for its activities and considers relevant information from a number of sources, including its Board of Directors.” 

Internal Audits

Our Internal Audit group conducts annual audits as per a risk-based audit plan which is approved by the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors. After each audit, a report is issued which includes our opinion on the related internal controls, a summary of each finding and management’s remedial action plans.

Audit Opinions, audit findings and follow up

Audit Opinions

Audit opinions relate to the process being audited, and do not reflect an overall opinion for EDC. There are four audit opinions.

  • Strong controls: Key controls are effectively designed and operating as intended. Internal control system is comprehensive, well developed, and well understood by Management and staff. Objectives of the audited process are most likely to be achieved.
  •  
  • Well controlled:Key controls are effectively designed and operating as intended. Objectives of the audited process are likely to be achieved.
  •  
  • Opportunities exist to improve controls: One or more key controls do not exist or are ineffective. Objectives of the process may not be achieved. The risk of loss to the audited process is significant. Timely action is required.
  •  
  • Not controlled: Multiple key controls do not exist or are ineffective. Objectives of the process are unlikely to be achieved. The risk of loss to the audited process is material. Action must follow immediately.

Audit Findings

  • Major: A key control does not exist, is poorly designed or is not operating as intended and the financial and/or reputation risk is more than inconsequential. The process objective to which the control relates is unlikely to be achieved. Corrective action is needed to ensure controls are cost effective and/or process objectives are achieved.
  •  
  • Moderate: A key control does not exist, is poorly designed or is not operating as intended and the financial and/or reputation risk to the process is more than inconsequential. However, a compensating control exists. Corrective action is needed to avoid sole reliance on compensating controls and/or ensure controls are cost effective.
  •  
  • Minor: A weakness in the design and/or operation of a non-key process control. Ability to achieve process objectives is unlikely to be impacted. Corrective action is suggested to ensure controls are cost effective.

Audit Follow-up Process

As required by the standards of the Institute of Internal Auditors, Internal Audit monitors the disposition of audit engagement results communicated to management to ensure that action is taken on a timely basis. Follow-up testing is performed on a quarterly basis to ensure appropriate implementation of action plans. Follow-up audits assess the overall implementation rate of management’s action plans. A high implementation rate across the organization signifies management’s commitment to the continuous improvement of internal controls. A report is issued for follow-up audits using the following rating scale:

  • Strong:100% of the audit recommendations due to be implemented in the current quarter were completed.
  •  
  • Well controlled: 70% - 99% of the audit recommendations due to be implemented in the current quarter were completed.
  •  
  • Opportunity Exists to Improve Implementation Rates: 50% - 69% of the audit recommendations due to be implemented in the current quarter were completed.
  •  
  • Not controlled: less than 50% of the audit recommendations due to be implemented in the current quarter were completed.
Annual Report

Trade Unlimited – 2017 Annual Report

Detailed information on our performance measures and highlights.

• 1-800-229-0575
  • Contactez-nous
  • Carrières
  • English
  • ConnexionConnexion

Vérifications

Vérificateur général du Canada

Notre vérificateur est le vérificateur général du Canada. Le vérificateur général procède à des examens spéciaux et à des vérifications annuelles de nos états financiers. En outre, il vérifie la mise en œuvre de la Directive en matière d'évaluation environnementale d’EDC.

Fait à noter, nous avons été à sept reprises lauréat du Prix d'excellence des rapports annuels des sociétés d'État du vérificateur général.

Examens spéciaux

Un examen spécial est une vérification de la performance d’une société d’État fédérale, menée par le Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada, au moins une fois tous les dix ans. Le rapport publié par la suite offre une opinion de vérification indépendante sur la gestion générale de la société examinée au Conseil d’administration, au ministre de tutelle et au Parlement.

Le vérificateur général cherche en particulier à déterminer si les systèmes et les pratiques en matière de finance, de gestion et d’information donnent « une assurance raisonnable que les actifs de la société sont protégés et contrôlés »; si les ressources financières, humaines et matérielles sont gérées « de manière économique et efficiente »; et si « ses activités sont menées de manière efficace ».

Le dernier examen spécial a été mené en 2009. La conclusion du rapport du vérificateur général est la suivante : « Elle s'est dotée d'un processus de planification stratégique générale qui lui permet d'orienter avec clarté ses activités. De plus, elle tient compte des renseignements pertinents qui émanent de diverses sources, notamment du Conseil d'administration. »

Vérifications internes

Le Groupe de la vérification interne d'EDC effectue chaque année des audits en fonction d'un plan de vérification fondé sur les risques et approuvé par le Comité de la vérification du Conseil d'administration d'EDC. À l'issue de chaque audit, nous produisons un rapport qui fournit notre avis sur les contrôles internes effectués, un résumé des constatations faites et les recommandations de la direction.

Opinions, système d'évaluation d’audit et suivi

Opinions de l’auditeur

Les opinions concernent le processus vérifié et ne reflètent pas une opinion globale pour l'ensemble d'EDC. Il y quatre opinions possibles.

  • Contrôles rigoureux : Des contrôles clés ont été efficacement conçus et fonctionnent comme prévu. Des contrôles internes exemplaires existent. Les objectifs du processus vérifié seront très probablement atteints.
  •  
  • Contrôles efficaces : Des contrôles clés ont été efficacement conçus et fonctionnent comme prévu. Les objectifs du processus vérifié seront probablement atteints.
  •  
  • Contrôles nécessitant des améliorations : Un ou plusieurs contrôles clés n'existent pas, ne sont pas bien conçus ou ne fonctionnent pas comme prévu. Il se peut que les objectifs du processus ne soient pas atteints. Du point de vue des finances ou de la réputation, l’incidence sur le processus vérifié est minime. De promptes mesures s'imposent.
  •  
  • Contrôles lacunaires : De nombreux contrôles clés n'existent pas, ne sont pas bien conçus ou ne fonctionnent pas comme prévu. Les objectifs du processus ne seront probablement pas atteints. Du point de vue des finances ou de la réputation, l'incidence sur le processus vérifié est importante. Des mesures doivent être prises immédiatement.

Système d'évaluation de l’audit

  • Problème important – Un contrôle clé n'existe pas, est mal conçu ou ne fonctionne pas comme prévu et le risque financier et/ou de réputation est plus qu'insignifiant. L'objectif du processus sur lequel porte le contrôle ne sera probablement pas atteint. Des mesures correctives sont requises pour que les contrôles soient efficients ou que les objectifs du processus soient atteints.
  •  
  • Problème modéré – Un contrôle clé n'existe pas, est mal conçu ou ne fonctionne pas comme prévu et le risque financier ou de réputation pour le processus est plus qu'insignifiant. Cependant, un contrôle compensatoire existe. Des mesures correctives sont requises pour éviter de compter uniquement sur les contrôles compensatoires ou pour s'assurer de l’efficience des contrôles.
  •  
  • Problème mineur – On constate une faiblesse dans la conception ou dans le fonctionnement d'un contrôle qui n'est pas un contrôle clé. Il est peu probable qu'il y ait des répercussions sur la capacité d'atteindre les objectifs. Des mesures correctives sont suggérées pour s'assurer de l’efficience des contrôles.

Processus de suivi de l’audit

Conformément aux normes de l'Institut des auditeurs internes, la Vérification interne fait le suivi des résultats de la mission d’audit communiqués à la haute direction pour s'assurer que des mesures sont prises en temps opportun. Les examens de suivi sont effectués une fois par trimestre afin de garantir la mise œuvre approprié des plans d’action. Les audits de suivi évaluent le taux global de mise en œuvre des plans d’action de la direction. Un taux élevé de mise en œuvre à l’échelle de la Société indique l’engagement de la part de la direction à l’égard de l’amélioration des contrôles internes. Les audits de suivi font l’objet d’un rapport fondé sur l’échelle d’évaluation suivante :

  • Contrôles rigoureux – 100 % des recommandations à appliquer pendant le trimestre en cours ont été mises en œuvre.
  •  
  • Contrôles efficaces – 70 à 99 % des recommandations à appliquer pendant le trimestre en cours ont été mises en œuvre.
  •  
  • Contrôles nécessitant des améliorations – 50 à 69 % des recommandations à appliquer pendant le trimestre en cours ont été mises en œuvre.
  •  
  • Moins de 50 % des recommandations à appliquer pendant le trimestre en cours ont été mises en œuvre.
Rapport annuel

« Le commerce sans limites » - Rapport annuel 2017

Pour tout savoir sur notre performance : indicateurs et faits saillants.