• 1-800-229-0575
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Français
  • LoginLogin
Home > Home > About Us

About Us

Who are we?

We are Canada’s export credit agency. Our job is to support and develop Canada’s export trade by helping Canadian companies respond to international business opportunities. We are a self-financing, Crown corporation that operates at arm's length from the Government.

What do we do?

We provide insurance and financial services, bonding products and small business solutions to Canadian exporters and investors and their international buyers. We also support Canadian direct investment abroad and investment into Canada. Much of our business is done in partnership with other financial institutions and through collaboration with the Government of Canada.

In 2017, EDC was entrusted by the Government of Canada to create a Canadian development finance institution (DFI). Created as a subsidiary of EDC, the DFI’s core mandate will be to support sustainable development and poverty reduction in developing countries by providing financial services in support of private sector initiatives.

How we operate

Unlike most export credit agencies that rely on governmental annual appropriations, we are financially self-sufficient and operate much like a commercial institution. We collect interest on our loans and premiums on our insurance products. We also have a treasury department that sells bonds and raises money in global capital markets.

We are committed to the principles of corporate social responsibility (CSR). Our rigorous due diligence requirements ensure that all projects and transactions we support are financially, environmentally and socially responsible. We believe that good business — adopting and embracing these principles while we facilitate trade for Canadian investors and exporters — is good for business. 

CSR Report

CSR Annual Report

Doing better together. Read more in our Corporate Social Responsibility Annual Report.
Annual Report 

2017 Annual Report

Looking for detailed information on our performance measures and highlights? View our 2017 Annual Report – Trade Unlimited.
ExportWise 

ExportWise.ca

Our online magazine for Canadian exporters and investors. Read it. Be it.

Benefits to Canada

Since we were founded in 1944, we have facilitated more than $1.4 trillion in exports and foreign investment by Canadian companies. This is important because Canada’s economy relies on trade. Given our small domestic market, Canadian businesses have to think globally to compete and grow.
 
In 2017 we helped nearly 9,400 Canadian companies do business in most markets around the world. The majority of companies were small businesses, and 30 per cent of this business was conducted in fast-growing emerging markets. Using our financial products and services, our customers’ export sales and investments approximated $104 billion. We estimate that this helped generate $67 billion of Canada’s GDP, nearly 4 cents for every dollar earned, and helped sustain 523,808 jobs.

Making the connections to create trade

Critical to Canada’s trade success is the ability for Canadian companies, particularly SMEs, to make a connection with international buyers. But many of these companies do not have the size or visibility to make that happen, particularly in emerging markets. One of EDC’s strategies is to help make these connections through match-making sessions with the Canadian Trade Commissioners’ Service, through our equity investments and by leveraging our financial relationships with foreign buyers to encourage them to procure from Canadian suppliers. This strategy is particularly geared toward helping Canadian small-and medium-sized business grow internationally.

Partnership preferred philosophy

We collaborate with the industry’s most trusted organizations to provide Canadian companies with access to the latest trade knowledge and solutions that are complimentary to EDC’s offerings, helping companies go, grow and succeed internationally.
 

See who we work with

À propos d'EDC - Exportation et développement Canada (EDC)
  • 1-800-229-0575
  • Contactez-nous
  • Carrières
  • English
  • ConnexionConnexion
Home > Accueil > À propos de nous

À propos de nous

Qui nous sommes

EDC est l’organisme de crédit à l’exportation du Canada. Notre mandat est soutenir et développer le commerce extérieur du Canada en aidant les entreprises canadiennes à profiter des débouchés offerts sur le marché international. Nous sommes une société d’État financièrement autonome indépendante du gouvernement du Canada.

Ce que nous faisons

Nous offrons des solutions d’assurances et de financement, des produits de cautionnement de même que des solutions pour petites entreprises aux exportateurs et investisseurs canadiens et à leurs acheteurs étrangers. Nous appuyons aussi l’investissement direct canadien à l'étranger et les investissements au Canada. Fait à noter, nos activités sont en grande partie réalisées en partenariat avec d’autres institutions financières et en collaboration avec le gouvernement du Canada.

En 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a confié à EDC la création d’une institution de financement du développement (IFD) du Canada. Créée comme filiale d’EDC, l’IFD a pour mandat principal de soutenir le développement durable et la réduction de la pauvreté dans des pays en développement en fournissant des services financiers à l’appui d’initiatives du secteur privé.

Notre mode de fonctionnement

Contrairement à la plupart des organismes de crédit à l’exportation qui bénéficient de crédits parlementaires annuels, EDC est financièrement autonome et fonctionne selon des principes commerciaux. Pour assurer son fonctionnement, la Société touche des intérêts sur ses prêts et des primes sur ses produits d’assurance. De plus, notre Service de la trésorerie vend des obligations et obtient du financement sur les marchés financiers mondiaux.

Nous adhérons aux principes de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE). Nous veillons à ce que tous les projets que nous appuyons soient viables sur les plans financier, environnemental et social. Nous croyons que bien gérer les affaires, c'est-à-dire appliquer ces principes lorsque nous facilitons les exportations et les investissements des entreprises canadiennes, c'est bon pour les affaires.

Rapport sur la RSE

Rapport annuel sur la RSE

Faire mieux ensemble. Consulter notre Rapport annuel sur la Responsabilité sociale des entreprise.
Rapport annuel

Rapport annuel 2017

Pour tout savoir sur notre performance : indicateurs et faits saillants. « Le Commerce sans limites ».
Exportateursavertis.ca

Exportateursavertis.ca

Notre magazine en ligne destiné aux exportateurs et investisseurs canadiens. Le lire, c’est le devenir.

Retombées pour le Canada

Depuis sa création en 1944, EDC a facilité des transactions d’exportation et d’investissement à l’étranger auprès d’entreprises canadiennes d’une valeur de plus de 1,4 billion de dollars. Il s’agit là d’une contribution importante puisque l’économie du Canada est tributaire du commerce international. En raison de la taille modeste de notre marché intérieur, les sociétés canadiennes doivent se tourner vers les marchés mondiaux pour demeurer concurrentielles et assurer leur croissance.

En 2017, nous avons appuyé les activités de près de 9 400 entreprises canadiennes sur la plupart des marchés du globe. La majorité de ces entreprises étaient des petites entreprises, et 30 % de nos activités a été mené sur des marchés émergents à forte croissance. S’appuyant sur nos produits et nos services financiers, nos clients ont réalisé des investissements et des ventes à l’exportation qui ont atteint environ 104 milliards de dollars. Nous estimons que cela a permis de générer 67 milliards de dollars en contribution au PIB du Canada, apporté près de 4 cents pour chaque dollar gagné et contribué à maintenir 523 808 emplois.

Tisser des relations génératrices de débouchés commerciaux

La réussite commerciale du Canada repose en grande partie sur la capacité des entreprises canadiennes, en particulier les PME, à entrer en relation avec des acheteurs étrangers. Or, bon nombre de ces entreprises n’ont ni la taille ni la visibilité pour le faire, surtout sur les marchés émergents. L’une de nos stratégies a pour but de les aider à tisser ces relations en organisant des séances de jumelage en collaboration avec le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada, ainsi qu’en misant sur nos investissements en capitaux propres et nos liens financiers avec des acheteurs étrangers pour les inciter à s’approvisionner auprès de fournisseurs canadiens. Cette stratégie vise avant tout à appuyer la croissance de PME canadiennes sur les marchés mondiaux.

Philosophie privilégiant les partenariats

Nous collaborons avec les organismes les plus dignes de confiance de l’industrie afin d’offrir aux entreprises canadiennes un accès aux plus récentes connaissances et solutions commerciales qui sont complémentaires aux services offerts par EDC, aidant ainsi les entreprises à percer, croître et réussir à l’étranger.

Découvrez avec qui nous collaborons