Login
Home > Home > Country Info > Malaysia

Malaysia

EDC Position-open all programs

EDC's Position

  • Key EDC Market
  • Actively pursuing business
  • Open under all programs, subject to regular approval criteria

Submit an online inquiry form

Country At A Glance

Flag of Malaysia
Map of Malaysia

Country Facts

Nominal GDP296.28 Billion USD
Population30.33 Million
Total Trade/GDP134.15%
CurrencyMalaysian Ringgit (MYR)
Merchandise Imports from Canada790.05 Million CAD
Canadian direct investment666 Million CAD
Main importsMachinery & Equipment, Manufactured Goods, Mineral Fuels, Chemicals

EDC in Malaysia

Canadian companies assisted135
International buyers insured141
Business volume386.13 Million CAD

Business Environment

Malaysia is a key market in Southeast Asia for many Canadian exporters. The country enjoys excellent infrastructure and transport connectivity supported by a healthy financial sector. Economic growth has slightly weakened in 2016 but remained decent and is expected to sustain into 2017. The industries in Malaysia are gradually moving up the supply chain to more capital intensive and higher value added products that employ more advanced technology. While there exists many opportunities for Canadian companies in a number of sectors, lack of transparency around government procurement as well as corruption continue to challenge exporters and investors. Partnering and joint venture relationships with local Malaysian companies is seen as an effective solution to these obstacles.

Due to recent changes to Malaysian laws, credit reporting agencies are now required to disclose certain information to Malaysian companies which are the subject of credit reports. This information may include EDC’s name and address (as the company requesting the credit report), our client’s company’s name and address, and the reason why the credit report is being requested by EDC. For more information please contact us.

Key Industries

  • Advanced Security
  • Aerospace
  • Construction & Infrastructure
  • Environmental Infrastructure & Waste Water
  • Medical Technology & Devices
  • Oil and Gas

How we can support your business

Through our representations in Singapore, we provide on-the-ground support to Canadian companies planning on or currently doing business in Malaysia. Our regional representatives have developed strategic relationships with major buyers in key sectors as well as an extensive network of local contacts in the market.

  • We are well positioned to help Canadian companies through a range of financing and risk management services.
  • Learn more about our service offering.

Consult our interactive Country Risk Quarterly report.

 

EDC Representatives

Related Information

Knowledge Centre




Country Risk Quarterly

Country Risk Quarterly

Make informed trade and investment decisions on over 100 countries.

Access it now

Home > Accueil > Info-pays > Malaisie

Malaisie

EDC est disposée à prendre des engagements (tous les programmes)

Position d’EDC

  • Marché de choix pour EDC
  • À l’affût de nouvelles occasions d’affaires
  • Sommes disposés à prendre des engagements dans le cadre de tous nos programmes, aux conditions normales d’approbation de la Société

Aperçu du pays

Drapeau - Malaisie
Carte - Malaisie

Coup d’œil sur le pays

PIB nominal296,28 milliards USD
Population30,33 millions
Total des échanges/PIB134,15 %
MonnaieRinggit de Malaisie (MYR)
Importations en provenance du Canada790,05 millions CAD
Investissement direct canadien666 millions CAD
Principales importationsMachinerie et équipements, Biens manufacturés, Combustibles minéraux, Produits chimiques

EDC en Malaisie

Entreprises canadiennes appuyées135
Acheteurs étrangers assurés141
Volume d'activités386,13 millions CAD

Contexte commercial

La Malaisie est un marché clé d’Asie du Sud-Est pour de nombreux exportateurs canadiens. Les infrastructures et les réseaux de transport du pays sont excellents et soutenus par un solide secteur financier. La croissance économique du pays a quelque peu ralenti au pays en 2016, mais demeure respectable. Cette croissance devrait se maintenir en 2017. Les industries malaisiennes se hissent graduellement plus haut dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement vers des produits plus capitalistiques et à plus grande valeur ajoutée qui font appel à une technologie plus pointue. La Malaisie offre de nombreux débouchés aux entreprises canadiennes dans un éventail de secteurs, mais le manque de transparence entourant les marchés publics et la corruption au pays demeurent problématiques pour les exportateurs et les investisseurs. L’établissement d’un partenariat ou d’une coentreprise est considéré comme un bon moyen de surmonter ces obstacles.

À la suite de récentes modifications apportées à la législation malaisienne les agences d’évaluation du crédit sont désormais tenues de divulguer certains renseignements aux entreprises malaisiennes visées par des évaluations de la solvabilité. Il pourrait s’agir du nom et de l’adresse d’EDC (en tant que société demandant l’évaluation de la solvabilité), le nom et l’adresse de notre client, ainsi que les motifs de la demande d’évaluation de la solvabilité soumise par EDC. Pour plus d’informations, veuillez contacter nous.

Secteurs clés

  • Aéronautique
  • Construction et infrastructure
  • Infrastructure environnementale et eaux usées
  • Pétrole et gaz naturel
  • Sécurité avancée
  • Technologies et appareils médicaux

Comment nous pouvons appuyer votre entreprise

Grâce à notre représentation à Singapour, nous offrons un appui sur le terrain aux entreprises canadiennes qui envisagent de faire des affaires en Malaisie, ou y exercent déjà des activités. Nos représentants régionaux ont tissé des relations stratégiques avec de grands acheteurs de secteurs névralgiques sur ce marché, en plus d’y établir un vaste réseau de personnes-ressources locales.

  • Nous sommes bien placés pour aider les entreprises canadiennes au moyen d’un éventail de services de financement et de gestion des risques.
  • Pour en savoir plus sur nos produits et services.

Consultez notre rapport Analyse trimestrielle des risques pays interactif.

 

Représentants d’EDC

Renseignements connexes

Centre d’expertise




L’Analyse trimestrielle des risques pays

L’Analyse trimestrielle des risques pays

Prenez des décisions commerciales et d’investissement éclairées touchant plus de 100 pays.

Le consulter maintenant