Nathan Andrew Nelson headshot, EDC
Nathan Andrew Nelson Regional Vice-President – Latin America & Caribbean Export Development Canada

Mr. Nathan Andrew Nelson joined Export Development Canada (EDC) in 2005 and has had more than 17 years of experience in international business development and fi-nancial services, including project and corporate finance, with EDC. In January 2018, Mr. Nelson was appointed Regional Vice-President for Latin America and the Carib-bean, based in Mexico City, Mexico.

Mr. Nelson leads EDC’s business development activities across the region with team members located in Canada, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru.

Prior to his current role, Mr. Nelson served as Chief Rep-resentative and Country Manager for Mexico. He has worked extensively in Mexico and South America as well Asia, including 3 years as Chief Representative and Coun-try Manager for EDC based in Mumbai, India.

Prior to EDC, Mr. Nelson worked at a boutique financial institution in Uruguay and Argentina. Mr. Nelson is an MBA honors graduate from Queens University and has won the Calgary Chamber of Commerce award for excel-lence as well as the Jason Lang award in 2005 for Aca-demic achievement at the Haskayne School of Business. Mr. Nelson has been a prominent speaker in the Latin America conference circuit including regular participation in both TXF and Euromoney Latin America Confer-ences. He has also served on several Boards including the Canada Mexico Chamber and the Indo-Canadian Cham-ber. Mr. Nelson speaks English, French, Spanish and Por-tuguese and has total of almost 25 years of international business experience.

Nathan Andrew Nelson portrait, EDC
Nathan Andrew Nelson Vice-président régional pour l’Amérique latine et les Antilles Exportation et développement Canada

Nathan Andrew Nelson est entré en poste à Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) en 2005. Il y a cumulé plus de 17 ans d’expérience internationale en développement des affaires et en services financiers (entre autres en financement de projets et d’entreprise). En janvier 2018, M. Nelson a été nommé vice-président régional pour l’Amérique latine et les Antilles. Il travaille à Mexico, au Mexique.

M. Nelson pilote les activités de prospection dans la région, conjointement avec des membres de son équipe situés au Canada, au Brésil, au Chili, en Colombie, au Mexique au Pérou.

Auparavant, il occupait le poste de représentant en chef et directeur national au Mexique. Au cours de sa carrière, il a beaucoup travaillé au Mexique, en Amérique du Sud et en Asie. Il a notamment été représentant en chef et directeur national pendant trois ans à Mumbai, en Inde.

Avant son entrée à EDC, M. Nelson travaillait pour une petite institution financière en Uruguay et en Argentine. Titulaire d’un MBA avec distinction de l’Université Queen’s, il a reçu le prix d’excellence de la chambre de commerce de Calgary, en plus du prix Jason Lang, en 2005, pour ses résultats scolaires à la Haskayne School of Business. Il donne fréquemment des conférences dans des congrès en Amérique latine, étant entre autres un invité régulier des congrès de TXF et d’Euromoney Latin America. De plus, il a siégé à plusieurs conseils d’administration, notamment à la Chambre de commerce Canada-Mexique et à la Chambre de commerce Indo-Canada. Maîtrisant l’anglais, le français, l’espagnol et le portugais, M. Nelson compte près de 25 ans d’expérience en commerce international.