Risk and risk weighting

Investor relations

Assessment of rating

All our issues carry the full faith and credit of the Canadian government rather than an explicit guarantee, which, in effect, elevates its credit standing to sovereign. The ratings on us reflect its status as an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and 100% ownership by the government of Canada (AAA/Stable/A-1+).

The Japan Credit Rating Agency conducted an assessment and re-confirmed its AAA rating of our debt securities.

Domestic​/Foreign Currency​  Long-term Short-term
Moody's​ Aaa​ P-1​
S & P​ AAA​ A-1+​
DBRS​ AAA​ R-1 (high)​
JCR​ AAA​  

 

 

Rating Reports

Risk weighting

0% BIS risk weighted, according to Basel II Framework.

Our debt obligations incur favourable capital treatment as they constitute a direct claim on a central government within the OECD. This is in accordance with the International Convergence of Capital Measurement and Capital Standards set forth by the Basel Committee on Banking Regulations and Supervisory practices. As such, we carry a zero-risk weighting for regulatory capital applications.

Trade matching statement

National Instrument 24-101-Institutional Trade Matching and Settlement came into effect on April 01, 2007. This instrument provides a foundation in provincial securities regulation for timely trade settlement processing and increased efficiency. It is a step towards straight-through processing in the Canadian securities market.

In accordance to the National Instrument 24-101, participants are required to publish a trade matching statement (TMS), or alternatively enter into a trade matching agreement (TMA) prior to institutional trade execution.

Full Trade matching statement (PDF)

Legal Disclaimer: Contents are provided for general informational purposes only and do not constitute an offering of securities in the United States or elsewhere. Our securities may not be offered for sale in the United States absent registration or an exemption from registration. Any public offering of our securities in the United States will be made by means of a prospectus that may be obtained from us and that will contain detailed information about us and our management as well as our financial statements.

Explore other pages within Investor Relations

Investor Relations

EDC debt ranks pari-passu with Government of Canada transactions.

Green Bonds

To reinforce our commitment to the environment and in response to investor demand, EDC issues Green Bonds.

Notation et pondération des risques

Relations avec les investisseurs

Évaluation de notation

Plutôt qu’une garantie formelle, les émissions d’EDC engagent irrévocablement le gouvernement du Canada. La cote de solvabilité de la Société est ainsi portée au rang d’entité souveraine. Les cotes reçues par Exportation et développement Canada tiennent compte de sa situation de mandataire de Sa Majesté du chef du Canada et de son appartenance en propriété exclusive au gouvernement du Canada (AAA/Stable/A-1+).

L’agence japonaise de notation a effectué une évaluation et a de nouveau confirmé qu’elle attribue la cote AAA aux titres de créance d’EDC.

Titres en CAD​/Titres en devises​ ​ Long terme Court terme
Moody's​ Aaa​ P-1​
S & P​ AAA​ A-1+​
DBRS​ AAA​ R-1 (élevée)​
JCR​ AAA​  

 

 

Rapports des agences de notation

Pondération des risques

Risque pondéré nul selon la Banque de règlements internationaux (cadre de l’Accord de Bâle II)

Les obligations d’EDC sont assujetties à un régime favorable puisqu’elles représentent une créance directe d’un gouvernement central d’un pays membre de l’OCDE. Cette règle est conforme à la Convergence internationale de la mesure et des normes de fonds propres établie par le Comité des règles et des pratiques de contrôle des opérations bancaires (Comité de Bâle). EDC présente donc un risque pondéré nul à des fins de demandes de fonds propres réglementaires.

Déclaration d’EDC relative à l’appariement

La Norme canadienne 24-101 sur l’appariement et le règlement des opérations institutionnelles est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2007. Cette norme établit un cadre pour la réglementation provinciale applicable aux titres afin d’assurer un traitement et un règlement plus efficaces et rapides des opérations institutionnelles. Il s’agit d’une première étape vers le traitement électronique intégral sur le marché des titres canadiens.

Conformément à la Norme canadienne 24-101, les participants sont tenus de publier une Déclaration relative à l’appariement (TMS) ou de conclure un Accord d’appariement (TMA) à cet effet avant d’effectuer des opérations institutionnelles.

Déclaration relative à l'appariement (PDF) (en anglais seulement)

Mise en garde : Le contenu est fourni uniquement à titre informatif général et ne constitue pas une offre de vente des titres de placement aux États-Unis ou ailleurs. Nos titres de placement ne peuvent être offerts en vente aux États-Unis sauf en cas d’enregistrement ou d’exemption valable des obligations d’enregistrement. Tout appel public à l’épargne de nos titres de placement aux États-Unis se fait au moyen d’un prospectus qui peut être obtenu de nous et qui renferme des renseignements détaillés à notre sujet et au sujet de notre gestion ainsi que de nos états financiers.

Explorez davantage la section Relations avec les investisseurs

Relations avec les investisseurs

La dette d’EDC se situe au même rang que les transactions du gouvernement du Canada.

Obligations vertes

EDC procédera à l’émission d’obligations vertes afin de confirmer son engagement à l'égard de l'environnement et en réponse à la demande des investisseurs.