Mario Thomas headshot, EDC
Mario Thomas President and Board Chair, Precision Biomonitoring Mario Thomas

Dr. Mario Thomas is a broad-skilled senior executive with solid international credentials in the knowledge-based industry, including environment and biodiversity preservation. With over 30 years in leadership roles directing high-performance teams and corporate development, he creates remarkable value for all stakeholders.

The broad scope of Dr. Thomas’ business engagements has taken place worldwide. He conducts business in a broad variety of settings and cultures globally. He is known as a solution provider to complex business challenges with a wealth of experience in directing diverse business transactions. His inclusive management philosophy brings people together fostering collaboration while leveraging all available resources to bring focus and precision to every project.  

Dr. Thomas founded Precision Biomonitoring Inc. six years ago where he is now President and Board Chair. Prior to founding Precision Biomonitoring, Dr. Thomas was Chief Executive Officer of the Biodiversity Institute of Ontario at University of Guelph, a world leader in biodiversity genomics. During his tenure at the University, Dr. Thomas was a board member of the Ontario Biodiversity Council and academic advisor to Team Canada for the COP on Biological Diversity.

Dr. Thomas holds a Ph.D. and a B.Sc. in chemistry from Université Laval in Québec City, and a diploma in business administration from École des Hautes Études Commerciales of Université de Montréal. He is also a Chartered Board Director.

Mario Thomas portrait, EDC
Mario Thomas Président d’entreprise et président du Conseil d’administration, Precision Biomonitoring Mario Thomas

Membre de la haute direction et doté de vastes compétences, Mario Thomas détient des diplômes internationaux reconnus dans l’industrie du savoir, notamment en environnement et en préservation de la biodiversité. Possédant plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans la gestion d’équipes performantes et dans le développement d’entreprise, il crée une incroyable valeur pour toutes les parties prenantes.

Les nombreux engagements entrepreneuriaux de M. Thomas s’imposent sur la scène internationale, où il œuvre dans une grande variété de milieux et de cultures. Reconnu pour sa capacité à trouver des solutions aux défis commerciaux complexes, il a une vaste expérience dans la gestion de diverses transactions commerciales. Sa philosophie de gestion inclusive rassemble tout un chacun et favorise la collaboration ainsi que l’exploitation des ressources disponibles tout en en apportant clarté et précision à chacun de ses projets.

M. Thomas a fondé Precision Biomonitoring inc. il y a six ans et y occupe actuellement les postes de président d’entreprise et de président du Conseil d’administration. Il était auparavant chef de la direction de la Biodiversity Institute of Ontario à l’Université de Guelph, un leader mondial dans la génomique de la biodiversité. Durant son mandat, M. Thomas siégeait au Conseil de la biodiversité de l’Ontario et travaillait comme conseiller auprès de l’équipe canadienne de la Conférence des Parties à la Convention sur la diversité biologique.

Il détient un doctorat en philosophie et un baccalauréat ès sciences en chimie de l’Université Laval à Québec, en plus d’un diplôme en administration des affaires de l’École des Hautes Études Commerciales de l’Université de Montréal. Il est également administrateur agréé.