Rosemary McCarney headshot, EDC
Rosemary McCarney Diplomat in Residence at Massey College and the James Coutts Scholar in International Relations at Trinity College, University of Toronto Rosemary McCarney

Rosemary McCarney is the Diplomat in Residence at Massey College and the James Coutts Scholar in International Relations at Trinity College, University of Toronto where she teaches Multilateral Diplomacy-Global Governance and Global Health Security Policy. She is the immediate past Canadian Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva.  

She is an award‐winning humanitarian, a business leader, an author, a recognized public speaker and an expert in international relations and foreign policy. She has been awarded two Honourary Doctorates. 

She worked with the World Bank, the International Finance Corporation, USAID and the EU, as well as with civil society, foreign governments and UN bodies. In 2005, she became the president and chief executive officer of Plan International Canada Inc., one of the oldest and largest charities in Canada until 2015 and her appointment as Canada’s Ambassador to the United Nations. 

Ms. McCarney was first Executive Director of the Canada‐US Law Institute and taught international and constitutional law at Case Western Reserve University, Faculty of Law and International Business Transactions Law at the Faculty of Law, University of Toronto.

She has practised law in the US and Canada and has held executive level management positions in the private and not‐for‐profit sector. 

She is a committed volunteer for many organizations and sits on numerous Boards and Advisory Committees in international development, global health, sustainable development and corporate governance.

Rosemary McCarney portrait, EDC
Rosemary McCarney Diplomate en résidence du Collège Massey et spécialiste de James Coutts au département des relations internationales du Collège Trinity, Université de Toronto Rosemary McCarney

Rosemary McCarney est la diplomate en résidence du Collège Massey et la spécialiste de James Coutts au département des relations internationales du Collège Trinity de l’Université de Toronto, où elle enseigne sur la diplomatie multilatérale, la gouvernance mondiale ainsi que les politiques de sécurité sanitaire mondiale. Mme McCarney termine son mandat en tant qu’ambassadrice du Canada et représentante permanente aux Nations Unies à Genève.

Elle est une humanitaire primée, une dirigeante d’entreprise, une auteure, une oratrice reconnue ainsi qu’une spécialiste en relations internationales et en politique étrangère. Elle s’est également vue décerner deux doctorats honorifiques.

Mme McCarney a travaillé avec la Banque mondiale, la Société financière internationale, l’USAID, l’Union européenne ainsi qu’au sein de la société civile et des gouvernements étrangers et d’autres organes des Nations Unies. En 2005, elle a été nommée présidente et chef de la direction de Plan International Canada inc., l’une des plus anciennes et importantes organisations caritatives au Canada, un poste qu’elle a occupé jusqu’en 2015 et sa nomination en tant qu’ambassadrice du Canada aux Nations Unies.

Mme McCarney a d’abord été directrice générale du Canada‐United States Law Institute et a enseigné le droit international et constitutionnel à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Case Western Reserve ainsi que le droit du commerce international à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Toronto.

Elle a également exercé le droit aux États‐Unis et au Canada et a occupé des postes de haute direction dans les secteurs privé et à but non lucratif.

En plus d’être une bénévole dévouée dans diverses organisations, Mme McCarney siège à de nombreux conseils et comités consultatifs en développement international, en santé mondiale, en développement durable et en gouvernance d’entreprise.