Tanya C. Walker headshot, EDC
Tanya C. Walker Lawyer and Managing Partner Walker Law Tanya C. Walker

Tanya graduated from McMaster University in 2002 with an Honours Commerce degree, minoring in Economics. She then attended Osgoode Hall Law School, where she graduated in 2005 and received her law license in 2006. Tanya practiced at two Bay Street firms before opening Walker Law Professional Corporation (“Walker Law”), which was originally located on Bay Street and is now located in the financial district in downtown Toronto. Walker Law employs eight full-time employees in the area of commercial litigation. Walker Law prides itself on providing cost-effective legal services to resolve legal disputes instead of focusing on billable hours. Walker Law also delegates tasks based on complexity, which results in the client saving costs.

On August 9, 2016, Tanya was sworn in by the Law Society of Ontario to be the first black elected female bencher from Toronto in the now 224-year history of the Law Society and was re-elected in 2019. Benchers are similar to board of directors and are comprised of lawyers, paralegals and members of the public appointed by the government. All Benchers create rules to regulate nearly 64,000 lawyers and paralegals in the province. 

In 2018, Tanya was the recipient of the Lexpert (owned by Thomson Reuters) Rising Star Award, Minority Business Enterprise Award, and We Connect International Women’s Business Enterprise of the Year Award. In 2019, Tanya was honoured with the Osgoode Hall Law School Gold Key Award. 

Tanya appears regularly on national television stations such as CityTV, CBC and CTV as a legal analyst.

Tanya C. Walker portrait, EDC
Tanya C. Walker Avocate et associée directrice cabinet d’avocats “Walker Law” Tanya C. Walker

En 2002, Tanya obtient un baccalauréat spécialisé en commerce avec une mineure en économie de l’Université McMaster. Elle fréquente ensuite la Osgoode Hall Law School, où elle décroche son diplôme en 2005 et obtient son permis d’exercice en droit en 2006. Mme Walker travaille ensuite dans deux cabinets de la rue Bay avant de fonder la Walker Law Professional Corporation (« Walker Law »). La firme, dont les premiers bureaux se trouvaient eux aussi sur la rue Bay, est maintenant établie dans le quartier financier du centre-ville de Toronto. Walker Law compte huit employés à temps plein qui se spécialisent dans le litige commercial. Le cabinet est fier de proposer des services de résolution de litiges au meilleur coût plutôt que de miser sur le nombre d’heures facturées. De plus, Walker Law délègue certaines tâches selon leur complexité, ce qui réduit la facture de ses clients.

Le 9 août 2016, Tanya a été assermentée par le Barreau de l’Ontario en tant que première femme noire torontoise à être élue conseillère depuis la création du Barreau, il y a 224 ans. Elle a été réélue en 2019. Le conseil du Barreau joue un rôle semblable à celui d’un conseil d’administration et compte des avocats, des parajuristes et des membres du public nommés par le gouvernement. Il établit les règles qui encadrent le travail de près de 64 000 avocats et parajuristes dans la province.

En 2018, Tanya s’est vu décerner le prix Rising Stars par Lexter (propriété de Thomson Reuters), le prix Minority Business Enterprise et le prix Women’s Business Enterprise of the Year de We Connect International. En 2019, elle a reçu le Gold Key Award de la Osgoode Hall Law School.

Tanya est souvent invitée à la télévision en tant qu’analyste juridique par des chaînes nationales telles que CityTV, CBC et CTV.