Laura Didyk headshot, EDC
Laura Didyk Vice President and National Lead Women Entrepreneurs Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) Laura Didyk

Laura Didyk is Vice President and National Lead Women Entrepreneurs at the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC).  In this newly created role, she leads the bank’s national strategy to support Canadian women entrepreneurs and ensures that strategy is integrated across the entire bank.

Laura has always been passionate about entrepreneurship. Since 1994, Laura has held progressively senior roles at BDC across many divisions of the bank. From consulting and finance, to branch support and subordinate financing, Laura has worked with all types of entrepreneurs, at all stages of their business, helping them access the advice and capital needed to grow and succeed. Through this experience, she consistently saw one gap: a lack of women. 

Since 2015, Laura has been an ally and advocate for female business owners and leaders. She began as the regional Women Entrepreneurs Lead in the prairies helping drive the bank’s strategy and securing local champions. Today, she drives the bank’s mandate to support women entrepreneurs across Canada. She is a sought after speaker and presenter on the topic of women entrepreneurship and leadership and regularly mentors and coaches female entrepreneurs. 

Having lived and worked in Calgary for over 20 years, Laura spends as much time as she can in the mountains skiing and hiking with her husband and two daughters. A Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA), she holds a Business degree and a degree in Actuarial Science from the University of Manitoba.   

Laura is passionate about helping entrepreneurs start and grow their business. She also leads BDC’s national strategy to support Canadian women entrepreneurs. Currently, only 16% of small and medium-sized businesses are majority women-owned. BDC, Canada’s only bank dedicated to entrepreneurs, has a bold mandate to increase that number and Laura is leading to charge to ensure integration across the bank and awareness among Canadians.

Website: www.bdc.ca/woman

Laura Didyk portrait, EDC
Laura Didyk Vice-présidente et championne nationale, Entrepreneuriat féminin Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) Laura Didyk

Laura Didyk est vice-présidente et championne nationale, Entrepreneuriat féminin à Banque de développement du Canada (BDC). Dans le cadre de cette fonction, créée récemment, elle supervise la stratégie de soutien de BDC visant les femmes entrepreneures canadiennes et s’assure qu’elle est appliquée dans l’ensemble de l’organisation.

Laura s’est toujours passionnée pour l’entrepreneuriat. Depuis 1994, elle a gravi les échelons au sein de nombreux services de BDC. Services-conseils, finances, soutien aux succursales et financement subordonné : voilà certains des nombreux services que Laura a offerts aux entrepreneurs, de tous les secteurs d’activité et à toutes les étapes de leur développement, pour les aider à obtenir les conseils et le capital nécessaires à la croissance et au succès de leur entreprise. Mais au fil de son parcours, elle a toujours constaté le même problème : il n’y a pas assez de femmes.

Depuis 2015, Laura est une alliée et une défenseure des femmes propriétaires et dirigeantes d’entreprises. Elle a d’abord été championne régionale, Entrepreneuriat féminin pour les Prairies, contribuant ainsi à mettre en œuvre la stratégie de l’organisation et à trouver des soutiens locaux. Aujourd’hui, elle concrétise le mandat de BDC en appuyant les femmes entrepreneures canadiennes. Conférencière prisée dans les domaines de l’entrepreneuriat et du leadership au féminin, elle agit régulièrement comme mentore et coach auprès de femmes propriétaires d’entreprises.

Comme elle a habité et travaillé à Calgary pendant plus de 20 ans, Laura passe le plus de temps possible en montagne à skier ou à faire de la randonnée avec son mari et ses deux filles. Comptable professionnelle agréée (CPA), elle détient deux diplômes de l’Université du Manitoba, en commerce et en actuariat.

Pour Laura, aider les entrepreneurs à démarrer et à faire croître leur entreprise est une vraie passion. Elle chapeaute d’ailleurs la stratégie nationale de soutien aux femmes entrepreneures de BDC. À l’heure actuelle, seulement 16 % des petites et moyennes entreprises sont détenues majoritairement par des femmes. Seule banque au pays qui se consacre aux entrepreneurs, BDC s’est donné le mandat audacieux de faire augmenter ce nombre, et Laura prend les choses en main pour inscrire cet objectif partout dans l’organisation et sensibiliser la population canadienne.

Site Web: www.bdc.ca/femme