Teresa Nizzola headshot, EDC
Teresa Nizzola Lead, Customer Strategy, Mid-Market Growth Businesses Export Development Canada Teresa Nizzola

Ms. Nizzola joined Export Development Canada (EDC) in 1997 as a Financial Services Manager where she was involved in complex corporate financing transactions in multiple sectors including energy, mining, and telecom. After 20 years at EDC, in August 2017, Teri and her family moved to Sydney, Australia where Teri took on the role as EDC’s inaugural Chief Representative Australia and launched EDC’s 20th representation office. In the first full year of operation, the EDC Sydney office supported the largest number of Canadian businesses and achieved the highest support of EDC solutions.

Previously, Teri worked as the Sector Advisor for the EDC Information and Communication Sector Team where she developed, spearheaded and executed a sector strategy to support the significant cluster of small and medium sized companies in the technology space in Canada. Teri spent a period as Manager responsible for the Canadian Atlantic Region in Commercial Markets and Small Business. In 2014, Teri was appointed Chief Representative, Mexico where she led a dedicated team located in Mexico City and Monterrey covering international business development efforts.

Before joining EDC, Ms. Nizzola worked for four years at the largest commercial center in Montreal with one of the top Canadian banks. She also held various related international jobs in Argentina and Hong Kong. Ms. Nizzola has worked on five different continents during her 30+ year career were she has focused on structuring financial transactions and developing relationships with Canadian companies looking to expand in international markets. Teri is passionate about helping Canadian companies, go, grow and succeed internationally.

Teri earned a MBA from the University of British Columbia, and obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce from McGill University.  She also completed the Women’s Executive Leadership Program at  Wharton.  Teri speaks English, French, Italian and Spanish.

Teresa Nizzola portrait, EDC
Teresa Nizzola Responsable, Stratégie clients, Entreprises Croissance Marché Commerciale Exportation et développement Canada Teresa Nizzola

Mme Nizzola est entrée à Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) en 1997 en tant que directrice des services financiers. Dans ce rôle, elle a pris part à des transactions de financement d’entreprises au sein de nombreux secteurs, dont l'énergie, l'exploitation minière et les télécommunications. Après 20 ans, en aout 2017, Teri et sa famille ont déménagé à Sydney, en Australie, où Teri a assumé le rôle de première représentante en chef d'EDC en Australie et a lancé le 20e bureau de représentation d'EDC. Au cours de sa première année le bureau d'EDC à Sydney a soutenu le plus grand nombre d'entreprises canadiennes et obtenu le plus grand soutien des solutions d'EDC. 

Auparavant, Teri a travaillé comme conseillère sectorielle pour l'équipe du secteur de l'information et des communications d'EDC, où elle a élaboré, dirigé et exécuté une stratégie sectorielle pour soutenir l'important groupe de petites et moyennes entreprises dans l'espace technologique au Canada. Teri a passé une période en tant que gestionnaire responsable de la région de l'Atlantique canadien dans les marchés commerciaux et les petites entreprises. En 2014, Teri a été nommée représentante en chef, Mexique, où elle a dirigé une équipe dédiée située à Mexico et à Monterrey couvrant les efforts de développement des affaires internationales.

Avant de se joindre à EDC, Mme Nizzola a travaillé pendant quatre ans chez une des principales banques canadiennes à un des plus importants centres commerciaux. Elle a également tenu des postes internationaux en Argentine et à Hong Kong et a travaillé sur cinq continents différents lors de sa carrière de plus de 30 ans. Ses activités ont focalisé sur la structuration de transactions financières et l'établissement de relations avec des entreprises cherchant à se développer à l'international. Teri est passionnée d'aider les entreprises canadiennes à aller, grandir et réussir à l'international.

Mme Nizzola a obtenu une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et a étudié un semestre à l'Escuela Superior de Administración y Dirección de Empresas (ESADE) à Barcelona en Espagne. Elle a également obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences commerciales de l'Université McGill.  Elle a également suivi le Women’s Executive Leadership Program à Wharton.   Teri parle l'anglais, l'italien, le français et l'espagnol.