Todd Evans headshot, EDC
Todd Evans National lead, Inclusive Trade, Indigenous Exporters Export Development Canada Todd Evans

A Miꞌkmaw from Newfoundland and Labrador, who’s worked at EDC primarily as an economist for the past 25 years, Todd was thrilled to take on this new role in 2019. His job involves working with Indigenous organizations, along with First Nations, Metis and Inuit businesses⁠, and leveraging these partnerships to ensure EDC provides products and services that are relevant to them. 

Building self-sufficiency, financial sovereignty and community prosperity are common goals for Indigenous entrepreneurs and exporting can be the key to their success. Todd’s ultimate goal is to help them take advantage of all that EDC’s international trade ecosystem has to offer to achieve sustainable growth, both at home and abroad. 

More than 30 years ago, Todd started his career in economic development for Indian and Northern Affairs. In his new role at EDC, he says working with Indigenous businesses and communities feels like he’s come full circle.

Todd Evans portrait, EDC
Todd Evans Responsable national du commerce inclusif, Entreprises exportatrices dirigées par des Autochtones Exportation et développement Canada Todd Evans

Todd Evans, Miꞌkmaq de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador qui a principalement occupé le poste d’économiste à EDC durant les 25 dernières années, était emballé à l’idée d’endosser ce rôle en 2019. Son travail consiste à collaborer avec les organisations autochtones et les entreprises dirigées par des membres des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits⁠ et, en s’appuyant sur ces partenariats, à s’assurer qu’EDC leur offre des produits et des services adaptés.

L’autonomie, la souveraineté financière et la prospérité collective sont des objectifs communs aux entrepreneurs autochtones et l’exportation peut les mener à la réussite. L’objectif ultime de Todd est de les aider à profiter pleinement de l’écosystème de commerce international d’EDC pour parvenir à une croissance durable, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

Il y a plus de 30 ans, Todd a commencé sa carrière en développement économique pour Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Et comme son nouveau rôle à EDC consiste à collaborer avec les entreprises et les communautés autochtones, il a le sentiment que la boucle est bouclée.