Jean-Bernard Ruggieri headshot, EDC
Jean-Bernard Ruggieri Chief Representative, Head of Middle East & Africa Export Development Canada +1-613-597-8857 (Canada)

Jean-Bernard Ruggieri joined Export Development Canada in 2014 and has more than 20 years of experience in international trade finance, banking, business development and team management. In September 2015, he was appointed Chief Representative, Africa, with the goal of leading EDC’s efforts at trade promotion, facilitation and creation in support of Canadian exporters and investors for the Africa market and opened the first EDC’s representation in this continent. In June 2019, he accepted an extended role as the lead of the newly merged Middle East & Africa region and moved to Dubai.

Prior to this, Jean-Bernard headed EDC’s Toronto-area sales team for Commercial Market and Small Business clients, prospects and partners.

He started his career in France, working as sales manager and branch manager for two local banks, but quickly demonstrated a talent for international finance and trade.

Before joining EDC, Jean-Bernard worked for National Bank and CIBC, where he headed the trade finance sales departments for each of those institutions, using his skills and knowledge to help Canadian companies grow their international trade activities.

Jean-Bernard is an MBA graduate of Paris 1 – Panthéon-Sorbonne University, Paris, France. During his stint at EDC’s Toronto office, he also accepted the role of parttime instructor in Trade Finance and International Banking and Finance, at Seneca College. Having travelled extensively and lived in six different countries, he is fluent in English and French.

Jean-Bernard Ruggieri portrait, EDC
Jean-Bernard Ruggieri Représentant en chef, Responsable du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique Exportation et développement Canada +1-613-597-8857 (Canada)

Jean-Bernard Ruggieri a rejoint Exportation et développement Canada en 2014 et possède plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le financement du commerce international, de la banque, du développement des affaires et la gestion d’équipes. En septembre 2015 il a été nommé Représentant en chef pour l’Afrique dans le but de diriger les efforts d’EDC dans le domaine de la facilitation, l’origination et la promotion du commerce international afin de soutenir les exportateurs et les investisseurs canadiens dans le marché africain, et d’ouvrir la première représentation d’EDC sur ce continent. En juin 2019 il a accepté un poste accru comme responsable de la région nouvellement fusionnée du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique, et s’est installé à Dubaï.

Auparavant, il dirigeait l'équipe commerciale d'EDC de la région de Toronto en charge des clients, prospects et partenaires des marchés commerciaux et des petites entreprises.

Jean-Bernard a débuté sa carrière en France, en tant que directeur commercial et directeur d'agence pour deux banques locales, mais a rapidement démontré un réel talent pour le financement du commerce international.

Avant de rejoindre EDC, il a travaillé pour la Banque Nationale et CIBC, au sein desquelles il a dirigé les équipes de ventes des départements de financement de commerce commercial, en mettant à profit ses compétences et ses connaissances pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à développer leurs activités de commerce international.

Jean-Bernard est diplômé d’un « Master of Business Administration » de l'Université Paris 1 - Panthéon-Sorbonne, Paris, France. Lors de son passage au bureau d’EDC à Toronto, il aégalement accepté un poste de chargé de cours à temps partiel dans le but d’enseigner le financement et les services bancaires du commerce international au Collège Seneca. Ayant beaucoup voyagé et vécu dans six pays différents, il parle courammen anglais et français.