Richard Schuster headshot, EDC
Richard Schuster Senior Economist & Country Risk Analyst Economic-Political Intelligence Centre Export Development Canada

Richard Schuster joined Export Development Canada (EDC) in 1998 as an economist in the Country Assessment Division, specializing in Eastern/Central Europe, Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States, and Turkey. Throughout his career at EDC he has covered Latin America, Africa & Middle East, Japan, China, India and developing Asia, metals, energy market, as well performing extended research for one year with EDC’s Corporate Planning Group. He has recently returned to monitoring Eastern Europe and CIS in the newly created Economic and Political Intelligence Centre.

Prior to joining EDC, Mr. Schuster worked for more than 10 years in the Economics Division at the Bank of Nova Scotia in Toronto, where his focus was Country Risk for Eastern Europe, Pacific Asia and the Middle East.

Mr. Schuster earned his Master’s degree in Economics from the University of Waterloo, where he also obtained a joint BA in Economics and Management Studies.

Export Development Canada (EDC) is Canada’s export credit agency, offering innovative commercial solutions to help Canadian exporters and investors expand their international business. EDC’s knowledge and partnerships are used by more than 7,400 Canadian companies and their global customers in up to 200 markets worldwide each year. EDC is financially self-sustaining and is a recognized leader in financial reporting, economic analysis and human resource management.

Richard Schuster portrait, EDC
Richard Schuster Économiste principal Analyse et Prévision économiques Exportation et développement Canada

Richard Schuster est entré à Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) en 1998 à titre d’économiste, à la Division de l’évaluation des pays, où il s’est spécialisé dans les régions suivantes : Europe de l’Est et Europe centrale, Russie et Communauté des États indépendants, et Turquie. En 2002, promu économiste principal, il s’est concentré sur les marchés énergétiques, le Japon et la Chine, au sein de l’Équipe de l’analyse et de la prévision économiques. Il a récemment entrepris une année sabbatique à EDC pour faire des recherches approfondies au sein du Groupe de la planification générale.

Avant de se joindre à EDC, M. Schuster a travaillé pendant plus de 10 ans à la Division Économie de la Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse à Toronto, où il examinait les risques-pays en Europe de l’Est, dans la région de l’Asie Pacifique et au Moyen Orient.

Mr. Schuster est titulaire d’une maîtrise en économie de l’Université de Waterloo, où il a par ailleurs obtenu un baccalauréat en études économiques et de gestion.

EDC, organisme de crédit à l’exportation du Canada, offre des solutions commerciales novatrices pour aider les exportateurs et les investisseurs canadiens à réussir sur les  marchés mondiaux. Chaque année, quelque 7 000 entreprises canadiennes et leurs clients étrangers tirent profit de ses connaissances et de ses partenariats pour faire des affaires sur environ 200 marchés. Société financièrement autonome, EDC est un chef de file reconnu dans l’établissement de rapports financiers, l’analyse économique et la gestion des ressources humaines.