Stuart Bergman headshot, EDC
Stuart Bergman Vice-President and Chief Economist Export Development Canada Stuart Bergman

Stuart Bergman is Interim Chief Economist and Vice-President at Export Development Canada (EDC). Mr. Bergman joined EDC in 2003, and since has held various leadership positions, including Vice-President, ESG, Deputy Chief Economist, Director of the Economic and Political Intelligence Centre, Director of Corporate Strategy and Director of the Research and Analysis Division. 

Mr. Bergman is responsible for overseeing EDC’s economic analysis and forecasting, global markets intelligence and corporate research groups. In addition to advising EDC’s senior management and Board of Directors, Mr. Bergman is a featured speaker at conferences, international roundtables, and policy fora, and regularly appears in television, radio and print media commenting on the world economy and Canadian international trade issues. He produces a widely circulated print and video weekly commentary covering a range of global economic and business issues.

Prior to joining EDC, Mr. Bergman worked for Zurich Emerging Markets Solutions and the Foreign Policy Institute, in Washington, DC. He completed his graduate studies in International Economics and International Relations at the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. He currently resides in Ottawa, with his wife and three children.

Stuart Bergman portrait, EDC
Stuart Bergman Vice-président et économiste en chef Exportation et développement Canada Stuart Bergman

Stuart Bergman est économiste en chef et vice-président par intérim à Exportation et développement Canada (EDC).  M. Bergman est au service d’EDC depuis 2003, et a depuis exercé diverses fonctions de leadership, dont celles de vice-président, ESG, d’économiste en chef adjoint, de directeur du Centre d’information économique et politique, de directeur de la Stratégie d’entreprise et de directeur du Service de recherche et d’analyse. 

M. Bergman est responsable de la supervision des groupes d’analyse et de prévisions économiques, de l’information sur les marchés mondiaux et des services de recherche.  En plus de conseiller les cadres supérieurs et le Conseil d’administration d’EDC, M. Bergman agit aussi comme conférencier, participe à des tables rondes internationales de même qu’à des forums sur les politiques et commente régulièrement l’évolution de l’économie mondiale et les enjeux propres au commerce extérieur du Canada à la télévision, à la radio et dans la presse écrite.  Il tient également un bulletin hebdomadaire sous forme écrite et vidéo, largement diffusé, qui couvre une panoplie d’enjeux de l’économie internationale. 

Avant de se joindre à EDC, M. Bergman a travaillé pour Zurich Emerging Markets Solutions et le Foreign Policy Institute, à Washington. Il a effectué des études supérieures en économie internationale et en relations internationales à la School of Advanced International Studies de l’Université Johns Hopkins.  Il vit maintenant à Ottawa avec sa femme et leurs trois enfants.